We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality! Beautiful Views”
Review of Kaimata Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaimata Retreat
Ranked #15 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Kaimata Retreat during the start of our NZ adventure. That really set the bar very high! The views were amazing and you wake up to amazing birdsong. Dinner and Breakfast were beautifully done by resident Chef Pedro. they were really the best meals we had for the rest of our trip! Kyle and Rachel were great, accomodating hosts. Kyle brought us to Victory Beach nearby where we saw a hug sea lion basking and then fished for the evening's entree right in front of the retreat. we stayed at the Kotare room which was private and still boasted a great view. The general living area was nicely done up with a warm fireplace as well.
we would love to come back here again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBumFromSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you very much for your awesome expressions and impressions. We are delighted your destination, lodge and dining experiences were truly enjoyable. Your photo of Papanui Inlet is great! for the next few months the estuary water is perfect for a refreshing dip - then warm up in the freshwater outdoor hot tub of course! We would love to welcome you both again one day - I have more activity suggestions for you :) Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Kaimata Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent three days and two nights. Getting to the place was an experience in itself, you get to go from the city to small windy roads and then you think you are lost and just when you think of turning back, you find it! tucked away down a little drive way. The building is very nicely done up and gives you a feeling of warmth straight away, i found out later from the owners that it was actually built using the trees that were in the area.
The living room area is very cosy and comfortable with a great fireplace, and we had it all to ourselves the first night, but even with other people there, it is still possible to sit in a quite area and relax.
We opted for the dinner there and we were not disappointed, the food was very well cooked and sourced locally, including the delicious wine form the area. The chef asks what you would like for breakfast the next day and you wake up to a lovely view and great food.
The room we stayed in was the biggest one they had, which was very nice, the other rooms, were smaller but had a bigger view.
The views are jaw dropping beautiful. We were lucky enough that the weather was sunny and warm to the days we were there, which meant sitting out and watching the water and the wild life in front of your eyes, including big seals basking away!
We also managed to squeeze in a few activities like penguin and seal watching, plus the albatross colony . Both of which i would highly recommend, very unique tot he area and very eye opening.

Overall i would recommend Kaimata highly, the owners were very friendly without being intrusive, the retreat was relaxing enough that you came back completely relaxed, but had enough activities near by in case you needed a bit more adventure to fill the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank why_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments it was a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you both and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time out here on the Otago Peninsula - a successful juncture for you. It is now breeding time for the wildlife - ducklings, seal pups and at this time, The Royal Albatross Centre reports 55 breeding birds and 4 eggs laid for the season - we hope for their prosperity. Thank you again for staying - Kia ora from the team at Kaimata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Of all the beautiful places we stayed during our month long trip round NZ Kaimata comes out tops. It is quite a way out from Dunedin on rather narrow, twisting roads. Our satnav took us on a very odd route and at the end of a very long drive we wondered where on earth we were going. However all our misgivings were immediately dispelled when we arrived and saw this amazing house and fantastic location. Things got even better when Rachel told us that as we were the only guests for our two night stay and we had the whole house to ourselves. Then the lovely Pedro, our private chef, arrived and proceeded to produce a divine meal. Next morning we woke to the smell of fresh coffee, table beautifully laid, the log fire crackling merrily in the grate and Pedro in the kitchen preparing breakfast. It was truly like being in a Hollywood movie.

We have both travelled extensively and stayed in many different types of accommodation, but staying here was a truly unique and amazing experience. If you are interested in wildlife there is nowhere better. We took a boat trip to see the albatross colony and the yellow eyed penguin reserve which was really wonderful. The visit to Larnach castle was also very interesting. Our only regret was that we hadn't booked to stay for an extra couple of nights. Oh and once we had done it a second time and been directed to the shortest route, the drive into Dunedin was really OK. If you plan to visit the Dunedin area, don't miss the chance of staying in this amazing house.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat whilst visiting the Otago Peninsula ! We are delighted you enjoyed your time here - tena koe (thank you) for your review. A number of guests have commented that their satnav took them on a bit of a 'tiki tour' (roundabout way) before final arrival at the lodge ... we always hope the retreat and location will serve to soothe a weary traveller! There is much to see and do if you wish to absorb the peninsulas unique coastal landscapes and very special wildlife. Yes, we would recommend a 2 -3 night stay as that allows you a full day of exploration - we have more suggestions on your return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed three nights at Kaimata Retreat and it was truly special. Kyle and Rachel were wonderful hosts and made our stay more than perfect. Always helpful and pleasant with suggestions about activities, made phone calls for us, took us to the warf and carried us to the end of the Otago Inlet with their boat, all with a smile. Here we were able to walk the beach with no one except the sea lions and seals. In the morning we saw the Salmon feeding and when the tide came in the dophins came in as well. Kaimata Retreat is truly a special place. The chef was excellent with wonderful local dishes such us fish and lamb. We would certainly recommend this Retreat to family and friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneW410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat! the best part of being involved with the lodge is the super people we are so fortunate to meet. We love where we live and it is a pleasure to be able to share this distinctive part of New Zealand. Being able to walk a deserted beach alongside the South Pacific Ocean, to chance observe wild life, their activities, or lack of ... innate sea lion in slumber - Pacific does mean "peaceful" ...
Ngā mihi nui (with best wishes) - we look forward to hosting your family and friends one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We have traveled much of the world and stayed in some pretty great places, but Kaimata is just at the top of any list. Kyle and Rachel are wonderful people, posters for Kiwi charm. You shouldn't separate the beauty of the resort itself from them; they built it, they decorated it, and they keep it perfect with great grace and easy humor. The views are positively biblical, the activities as robust or as quiet as you wish, the personal chef (Pedro, from Chile) was 5 star quality, and the overall experience divine. We know we will be back!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is perfect. The one in the main building does not have the sweeping ocean view, b...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat and your generous feedback - it was really just wonderful to meet 'ya'all' thank you for your warmth of spirit and appreciation of our offerings - the retreat is to present a comfortable place from which to appreciate the open land, water scapes and wildlife activity. one day Mavericks and Redwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We arrived at Kaimata at februari the third, on a Sonny day. We were welcomed by Kyle, the manager who showed us his beautifull place in which we woudloper stay for two days. It is a modern place to stay and it when you are there you Will entourage your stay, like we did. Sitting in front of the room, you have a magnificent view and you can entourage nature and the birds. You can walk or run up the Hill and have an even beter view towards the ocean and spot seals and albatrossen overtreden. The rooms are very neat and its a great place to stay heen you visit the Otago peninsula, due to the hospitality of Kyle, Rachel and n-z masterchief for us especially: pedro

Room Tip: To enjoy nature in a stylist place, Kaimata is the place to be
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat ! Great you were able to sit for a time and watch the estuary activity - wildlife comings and goings. Pre-dinner stroll to the hills bend and enjoy South Pacific ocean views looking down Papanui Inlet bar and the length of Victory beach, or, early morning jog along the estuary road passing swans, herons and spoonbills feeding with the tides. Muchisimas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

the lodge and the room was beautiful with a great view! we enjoyed our stay there very much! the silence and the wildlife are fantastic! In the evening, we had our own chef Pedro. He cooked like a hero delicious dinners and was a little bit our host... He knew a lot of interesting things about the region. Our host showed us some sealions with his boat, which was a big adventure. thanks!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DanielKneubuehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thank you very much for staying at Kaimata Retreat ! and thank you for your review - wonderful you had enjoyable evening with chef Pedros 'southern' hospitality and cuisine - delicious foods served with care. The Hooker's sea lion are one of the rarest species of sea lion in the world - such impressive mammals, their water finesse spectacular to observe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
10.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
4.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
4.5 mi away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
463 reviews
2.8 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaimata Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimata Retreat

Address: 297 Cape Saunders Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £178 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaimata Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Winter 2015, Kaimata Retreat will offer private luxury rental villa accommodation on the Otago Peninsula. The retreat offers 3 rooms with ensuites, open plan living/dining with fully equipped kitchen and is available for exclusive-use self contained for 1 -6 guests. This is self contained, there are no food services available on site. This is an optimal location for travellers, groups of friends and getaways to enjoy the natural settings of the Otago Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kaimata Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing