We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Sanctuary, Great Views”
Review of Kaimata Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaimata Retreat
Ranked #20 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Otaga peninsula is a nature and out door lovers retreat. Kyle and Rachel along with their chefs Pedro and Danielle make your stay comfortable and as action packed as you like. The drive out from Dunedin is a bit on the dicey side, although after doing it once it did seem so bad. The views are magnificent and the seals, sea lions and even the occasional penguin are entertaining. The dinners are optional however Pedro makes them special with fresh and locally foraged ingredients. We thought the rooms were a tad small relative to the web pictures, but nothing to quibble about.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Orcharddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much for providing a review of Kaimata we appreciate your feedback. The low road bends and curves around harbourside bays only a few metres above the foreshore. Some guests have suggested the lack of traffic barriers along the seawalls makes an interesting drive out. Then your last few km is narrow gravel road near to estuary wetland edges. A very scenic drive for bird watchers. Thank you for staying we are pleased you enjoyed this location, the lodge and chefs food and company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

The drive from Dunedin -- whether by the high road or the low road -- is challenging, and when you arrive at Kaimata you will not want to leave. Rachel and Kyle have built a lovely retreat, with magnificent views, tasteful rooms, and a warm welcome. Breakfasts and dinners are delicious, and the chefs will accommodate your needs. Kyle's love for the nature that surrounds the retreat is evident.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much for contributing a review for Kaimata Retreat. It was a pleasure to host you and we do we appreciate your staying with us. Both roads are impressive on their own merits, enjoy the changing scenery, and once you arrive at the lodge sit back with a glass of wine (or a cup of tea and home baking if early afternoon ..) and relax for a time. Thank you again for your feedback and hope your New Zealand travels were altogether fabulous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our hard working hosts Kyle and Rachel did a beautiful job of balancing attentiveness to our needs with giving us our privacy. They are delightful people, and have created a most wonderful retreat set in the heart of nature. You must dine onsite with Pedro, Kaimata's private chef, for the length of your stay. Nothing can compare to the beautiful meals he lovingly prepares in this most exquisite locale.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review we are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience at the retreat. We appreciate your comments, watching evening wildlife activities from your dining table is a very pleasant background to savouring Head Chef Pedro's tasteful and artful creations, we agree. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great location that lives up to the pictures we saw in advance.Kyle and Rachel run a very special property -good ,comfortable quite private room,view that just keep getting better and your own chef,Pedro !!The evening meals are a treat ,watching the light fade over the ever changing river and enjoying Pedro's 4 course meal in such a stunning location will be difficult to beat.
Kyle's love of the house and pride in sharing with us was obvious.Trips down the river to the beach overlooking the wild ocean and "negotiating " with the resident sealion for access was interesting but you must do it!!
Do not be put off by other people's comments referring to the drive to the retreat-it is absolutely fine.

Room Tip: Either of the 2 rooms overlooking the river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your review we appreciate your time to write. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed chefs evening hospitality. Hooker's sea lion are recovering from near extinction and are slowly re-establishing on the Otago Peninsula coast. They can be quite curious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

From the native birdsong and calls of the family peacocks in the morning to the exquisite dinner with an expansive view over the bay and sheep laden hills, the sights and sounds of Kaimata Retreat will linger forever. Everything in between is as compelling: boat trips with owner Kyle and his amusing dog Remo (?) to experience the wildlife on Victory Beach and the nearby shores, moments in the hot tub overlooking the emerging sand bars in the bay, walks up from the beach accompanied by felines Leo and Tui , impressive locavore meals created by the charming Chilean chef Pedro, friendly chats with Kyle's accomodating partner Rachel, and the thrilling but beautiful drive to the property. Yes, it is hidden away on Otago Peninsula, linked to the city of Dunedin with roads that many of us would find challenging but that is what keeps it so special and makes it an adventure. You can always hire a driver to bring you, as did several of our fellow guests. The location will place you close to many of the Peninsular attractions: the Albatross Colony, ELM tours, Penguin Place, Natures Wonders tours, Lanarch Castle, Glenfalloch Gardens, the quaint town of Portobello with its museum etc. I would consider myself very lucky to return here someday to repeat my experience. Bravo, Rachel, Kyle, and Pedro!

Room Tip: Kahu is a corner room with a great view and the most privacy. Kotare has the same view and size but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review of Kaimata Retreat, we are really pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the lodge and time spent exploring this wonderful area. As you outline we are only about 25 minute self drive to the Royal albatross colony located at the end of the Otago Peninsula and close to many other popular peninsula attractions. For your first drive out we always hope guests embrace the roads as an adventure in itself, taking time to admire the collections of birds you can encounter along the way, although we recommend arrival before nightfall as there is no street lighting for the last 8kms! Thank you again for your kind words, great to meet you both and hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

After having been to >40 countries, staying at some of the most wonderful boutique hotels, hubby and I are pretty spoiled. Kaimata did not disappoint. The lodge is stunning, with native wood that grew from trees on the property, built by owner Kyle who manages the lodge with Rachel. Large glass windows overlook the bay with a back deck and comfy chairs to take it all in. The water reflects as turquoise, navy, black or green depending on the light. Behind and beside you, you are surrounded by grass covered hills with perpetual sheep. Kyle took care of our every whim, and took us across the shore to a private beach where we had close encounters with sea lions and wading birds. Since only 3 couples can stay at a time, the setting is intimate and feels like home. And the food! Pedro, the Chef, a native from Chile is truly gifted. The meals are lovingly made with food he has hand picked or foraged (e.g., a pail of clams from the shoreline). He accommodated my husband’s extensive food allergies with aplomb and never a complaint. Another highlight was Kyle’s introduction to his friend Ben, a Maori artist whose wood and jade carvings with accompanying stories will never be forgotten. This was the best way to experience the Oatago peninsula! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid the room near the kitchen as it is certain to be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your well-expressed review. Wildlife explorations, greetings with an accomplished pounamu carver, a relaxing ambient location and tastes of southern fare. We are really pleased you had a great and varied time too, on the Otago Peninsula. Thank you also for advising of your husbands diet needs prior to arrival, it is helpful due to our location from the city and our daily menu development. Thanks it was great to meet. did you go on the helicopter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Don't be put off by the seemingly long journey to this location, it is a jewel. We were met by Kyle and within five minutes forgot about the difficult drive to get here.The accomadation is very comfortable with two very comfortable chairs on your own deck to sit and look out at the beautiful scenery. Very comfortable lounge dining area and you are welcome to get your own tea coffee etc. Pedro is a wonderful addition to the staff and a great host chatting while cooking an amazing dinner and our breakfasts as well.Within one day we were experts at getting around and had explored all around Portobello. One of our most special moments was when Kyle took us out on his boat and dropped us off with another couple and we has encounters with the wildlife of the area. The sea lions were on the beach and we spent an amazing afternoon, one of our special memories from our trip to New Zealand. Thank you Kyle Rachael and Pedro for our amazing stay

Room Tip: There are two rooms looking over the beach these are the best for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Driving out you can see how the peninsula roads are so close to the harbour coast and then the best part, your last few km's wind around estuaries with birds and wildlife to see. There are some really good coastal walks and beaches, we can suggest from 1/2 hour to 6 hour depending on weather and your day. The open plan kitchen is good if you are interested in chefs food tips and ideas, or you can relax in the lounge and front deck areas. Find a chance to sit back at some stage, and self serve hot and cold drinks during the day with chefs home-baking. Thank you for staying, it was really nice to meet you both and thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
10 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
4.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
661 reviews
9.9 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
490 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
9.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaimata Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimata Retreat

Address: 297 Cape Saunders Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £172 - £575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaimata Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Winter 2015, Kaimata Retreat will offer private luxury rental villa accommodation on the Otago Peninsula. The retreat offers 3 rooms with ensuites, open plan living/dining with fully equipped kitchen and is available for exclusive-use self contained for 1 -6 guests. This is self contained, there are no food services available on site. This is an optimal location for travellers, groups of friends and getaways to enjoy the natural settings of the Otago Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaimata Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing