We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in every way!”
Review of Kaimata Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaimata Retreat
Ranked #15 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second visit to Kaimata Retreat and we are already planning for a third visit! It is simply incredible. Kaimata was our first stop in a month-long visit to New Zealand and we arrived tired after a day-long delay when we missed our connection in San Francisco. As soon as we stepped on the deck of Kaimata, all the worries and cares and stresses of travel completely disappeared. Rachel warmly hugged and greeted us and we caught up on life since we had seen her and Kyle on our last visit several years prior. We then relaxed on the deck with a glass of wine while soaking in the absolutely stunning views over Papanui Inlet.

Dinner that night involved a warm fire roaring, classical music softly playing in the background, fantastic New Zealand wine, amazing amazing food beautifully presented, and great conversation with the chef, Dani. We wound the evening up by soaking in the hot tub down by the water where you could see a blanket of stars above.

We stayed three nights at Kaimata and had an adventure each and every day including kayaking where two seals followed my kayak for about 20 minutes and an incredible wildlife tour to see yellow eyed penguins, albatross, and dozens of seal pups - all closer that you could imagine. We also did some great hikes and beach walks where we would be within yards of sea lions and seals and usually have the trail or beach to ourselves. We also spent a fantastic afternoon with Kyle and some fellow guests boating over to Victory Beach and hiking. On the way to and from the beach we saw huge sea lions swimming and playing by our boat, as well as groups of seals watching us from the rocks.

Kyle and Rachel go above and beyond to make your stay incredibly memorable. Sitting and talking with them while viewing the incredible Papanui Inlet was one of the highlights of our trip - and of the whole year. Between the hospitality of Rachel and Kyle, amazing food from chefs Dani and Pedro, the breathtaking views, up close wildlife, and great lodge - you will not want to leave! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicago_runners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed two nights in this magnificent lodge. The setting is really extraordinary. Kyle and Rachel are the perfect hosts! Kyle even took his on his boat on the adjacent lake, a perfect opportunity to take pictures of sea lions. Dinner twice with a really fantastic personal private chef, Pedro. The room was nice and comfortable. This lodge is an absolute must, when in the neighbourhood. (Or even not, it's well worth a drive.)

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers from Belgium

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We wanted to visit the Otago Peninsula and were looking for a nice small Hotel, as we do not like these big airport-terminal-like Hotels, and we found this gem on the peninsula
There are sometimes places where you are sorry when you have to leave, and The Kaimata retreat is one of these places !! Fantastic Lodge , very small ( 3 rooms ) but very personal, fantastic food by chef Aidan ( chef Pedro had his days off )
The Retreat is located in a remote corner of the peninsula, not too easy to find, but it's worth making the detour and the search :o))

Room Tip: Two Rooms with fantastic sea view, the third partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamapewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a fantastic lodge, well managed by Kyle and Rachel. The drive isn't that bad considering the opportunities that exist on the peninsula. Wildlife is all around you in this eco friendly lodge. And having your own chef in Pedro is the icing on the cake. Definitely should be the place to stay in this area!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was in complete contrast to the rest of our lodges/hotels etc. An eco-friendly place there are only three rooms. Two, including ours, faced over a bay with dramatic tide changes exposing sandbanks swarming with bird life. The room had floor to ceiling windows on two sides leading to a wonderful vista.

The weather is changeable with our stay experiencing clear blue skies one day and pouring rain the last one. The drive out is interesting with the last 8km on gravel roads. Do not attempt in the dark. As a result of the drive the lodge is remorse which provides its very charm.

A fire roars in the communal area which also has the kitchen. Now to Pedro who is a delight. He is more than happy to chat as one sips a glass if wine. His food is great and he will discuss the menu the night before or over breakfast. For the early riser it is just a few steps to the kitchen to make coffee or tea. Juices and soft drinks are in the fridge. This obviates the need for any facilities in the room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of the retreat. We were thinking of you both on the high seas the days following your departure !! A 30 min drive from Dunedin City, the location is a 'bit remote' and the last 10 kms are without street lighting along a gravel road beside the waters edge ... it is recommended to arrive during daylight hours. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Otaga peninsula is a nature and out door lovers retreat. Kyle and Rachel along with their chefs Pedro and Danielle make your stay comfortable and as action packed as you like. The drive out from Dunedin is a bit on the dicey side, although after doing it once it did seem so bad. The views are magnificent and the seals, sea lions and even the occasional penguin are entertaining. The dinners are optional however Pedro makes them special with fresh and locally foraged ingredients. We thought the rooms were a tad small relative to the web pictures, but nothing to quibble about.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Orcharddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much for providing a review of Kaimata we appreciate your feedback. The low road bends and curves around harbourside bays only a few metres above the foreshore. Some guests have suggested the lack of traffic barriers along the seawalls makes an interesting drive out. Then your last few km is narrow gravel road near to estuary wetland edges. A very scenic drive for bird watchers. Thank you for staying we are pleased you enjoyed this location, the lodge and chefs food and company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The drive from Dunedin -- whether by the high road or the low road -- is challenging, and when you arrive at Kaimata you will not want to leave. Rachel and Kyle have built a lovely retreat, with magnificent views, tasteful rooms, and a warm welcome. Breakfasts and dinners are delicious, and the chefs will accommodate your needs. Kyle's love for the nature that surrounds the retreat is evident.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimataRetreat, Owner at Kaimata Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much for contributing a review for Kaimata Retreat. It was a pleasure to host you and we do we appreciate your staying with us. Both roads are impressive on their own merits, enjoy the changing scenery, and once you arrive at the lodge sit back with a glass of wine (or a cup of tea and home baking if early afternoon ..) and relax for a time. Thank you again for your feedback and hope your New Zealand travels were altogether fabulous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
10.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
747 reviews
4.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
638 reviews
10.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
469 reviews
5.4 mi away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaimata Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimata Retreat

Address: 297 Cape Saunders Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £170 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaimata Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Winter 2015, Kaimata Retreat will offer private luxury rental villa accommodation on the Otago Peninsula. The retreat offers 3 rooms with ensuites, open plan living/dining with fully equipped kitchen and is available for exclusive-use self contained for 1 -6 guests. This is self contained, there are no food services available on site. This is an optimal location for travellers, groups of friends and getaways to enjoy the natural settings of the Otago Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kaimata Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing