We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price”

Woodlands Village Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Village Motel
Ranked #58 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here with wider family for graduation weekend. While the place is very tired and in need of some maintenance, and the room could have been cleaner (especially the bathroom), there was plenty of space for four of us, the beds were comfortable, and the location was perfect! This place is just what you're looking for if you're travelling as a family on a tight budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
8
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our apartment was big, enough room for us to have our own space which was perfect for our family. The bathroom seemed to have been recently refurbished and was nice. The rest of the apartment could do with an update and some work, though it seems like they may be doing it up? Was possibly the most run down motel we stayed at, though the quirky room added its own appeal and was the kids favorite due to the space. I didn't have a look at their website until after our stay as my husband organised our accommodation, but I would have been seriously dissapointed if I had of because apart from the bathroom our room was nothing like the redecorated one on their web page. I think they need to have photos of the other rooms as well on their webpage. The receptionist was very helpful when we checked in, lovely service and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here you might want to ask for the refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Don't bother with this place - especially if you've looked at their website and are expecting your room to look like the one advertised. Talk about misleading advertising - surely it's illegal. We arrived expecting a really nice place and what we got was a complete dive. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for the room that is shown in the photos on their website (assuming it exis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

More fool us. We didn't review Tripadvisor before we booked, and now wish we had. And our comments are pretty much mirrored by previous occupants. The images on the internet site are very different to the actual motel itself. It is very tired and run down. Our two storied apartment reeked of upholstery cleaner when we opened the door, and the odour remained for a full day. The curtains are thin, don't meet in the middle and don't block the light. The lighting is dim and it’s hard to see in the rooms as it gets dark, especially the bathroom. On top of that, of major concern is the railing on the stairs to the second level. At the top the railing is about knee height, offering no protection at all if we stumbled. The bannisters are about a foot apart, meaning any of our children, and in deed the adults, could easily fall/climb both through and over them to the first floor level below, such is the gap. Our 10 year old summed it up by saying "Well, at least the sign is OK" because their street signage is about the only thing not in need of a major overhaul!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

While in Te Anau we used their brochure to select a reservation. Upon arrival, we found our room to be in disrepair. The lights didn't work, the rooms were cold and moudly, the walls were peeling off, and there was a mouse-trap by our entrance. The chairs had human hair bunched on the backs. The sheets in one bedroom were stained with something. We left as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My workmate and I rented an upstairs apartment for a 3 day conference. This is what you get for $145 per night: two bedroom apartment - upstairs room having the best view with a double and single bed, downstairs a much smaller room with two single beds (electric blankets was a nice touch). Kitchen was small (no dishwasher) with only the bare essentials - an oven (don't bother using it, since the kitchen comes with a warning - any lingering smells can incur an additional levy - oh, but you can inquire at the reception area for outdoor barbie and rice cooker). Microwave, toaster, jug, fridge etc. An opening where the sink is allows you to hand food over to where there is a quaint little round table seating four (aka the dining room). And the lounge occupies the other half of the dining room consisting of 3 small lounge chairs, a coffee table and a tv (no Sky, just a simple antenna getting you only the main tv networks). Not exactly spacious, and certainly no incentive there to eat in. Oh, and the bathroom - compact, clean, with shower, basin, etc. As previous reviewers have noted, the daily room service was barely adequate. By our third night we had amassed almost two small bags of rubbish and fresh towels were absent. Luckily, we had managed to get by from having extra towels left on those beds that weren't slept in.
Overall, I'd say the room we rented served its purpose - it was a handy five minute walk to the campus that our conference was stationed at (the only upside to staying at this motel). But I'd expect much better for that amount of money. And I'd rather pay more for better facilities even if it meant walking an extra ten minutes more. And for me the bottom line is I would not have my mum sleep here, nor any of my siblings.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tala U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! We arrived to find that the images provided online were a total lie. We were three groups travelling together, one got a newly renovated room and the others were in rooms which had obviously recieved no attention since the 70s. The flooring was coming apart, the lights didn't work, the rooms were cold and moudly, the walls of the bathroom were peeling off, there were holes in the walls, and there was a mouse-trap in the wardrobe. They tried to charge us the same price despite the obvious differences in room quality and when asked if there were other renovated rooms available they said there was only one, so we took ourselves elsewhere. The images online are taken of the one decent room and all of the others aren't even up to the standard of a student hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Motel
Cumberland Motel
#59 of 61 in Dunedin
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 61 in Dunedin
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#27 of 61 in Dunedin
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#15 of 61 in Dunedin
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Owens Motel
Owens Motel
#54 of 61 in Dunedin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Village Motel

Property: Woodlands Village Motel
Address: 594 Great King Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlands Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlands Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing