We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty & smelly, outdated accommodation”

Woodlands Village Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Village Motel
Ranked #59 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 for almost 2 weeks on business. There was mold in the bedroom and all of the rooms had a musty damp smell. The rooms are very old fashioned as is the furniture. I stayed during orientation week at the local Uni so there was quite a bit of noise. On the upside the staff were pleasent and free wifi was provided.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stay two nights on two separate occasions within a two week period and were charged 2 different rate (for the same room) $55 apart.

That kind of left a bitter taste in my mouth... but in saying that we did return.

It was a two bedroom unit with good heating, MORE than ample living space (including full kitchen and dining table etc...), comfortable bed, clean, modern with inoffensive interior.

We had to move rooms as the room that we were first put in had a fuse blown, which meant no hot water (a very easy fix, had we known that was the issue). That was not a complaint as the room that we were put in was much much better for our purposes.

The stairs to the vast upstairs bedroom in the first unit would be too steep for many, especially the older, or the very young. The front unit we were in does have some road noise, but not enough to keep us awake.

I really shouldn't rate this badly as we have stayed three times on separate occasions, but it's almost because we know it and it isn't "bad". I just still smart at paying $55 more for a mid week stay than a Sunday night stay (typically a slow night).

Okay value for two rooms and for the amount of living space you get, but I can't bring myself to like it more...

Room Tip: Room 101 suited our needs best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here with wider family for graduation weekend. While the place is very tired and in need of some maintenance, and the room could have been cleaner (especially the bathroom), there was plenty of space for four of us, the beds were comfortable, and the location was perfect! This place is just what you're looking for if you're travelling as a family on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our apartment was big, enough room for us to have our own space which was perfect for our family. The bathroom seemed to have been recently refurbished and was nice. The rest of the apartment could do with an update and some work, though it seems like they may be doing it up? Was possibly the most run down motel we stayed at, though the quirky room added its own appeal and was the kids favorite due to the space. I didn't have a look at their website until after our stay as my husband organised our accommodation, but I would have been seriously dissapointed if I had of because apart from the bathroom our room was nothing like the redecorated one on their web page. I think they need to have photos of the other rooms as well on their webpage. The receptionist was very helpful when we checked in, lovely service and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here you might want to ask for the refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Don't bother with this place - especially if you've looked at their website and are expecting your room to look like the one advertised. Talk about misleading advertising - surely it's illegal. We arrived expecting a really nice place and what we got was a complete dive. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for the room that is shown in the photos on their website (assuming it exis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

More fool us. We didn't review Tripadvisor before we booked, and now wish we had. And our comments are pretty much mirrored by previous occupants. The images on the internet site are very different to the actual motel itself. It is very tired and run down. Our two storied apartment reeked of upholstery cleaner when we opened the door, and the odour remained for a full day. The curtains are thin, don't meet in the middle and don't block the light. The lighting is dim and it’s hard to see in the rooms as it gets dark, especially the bathroom. On top of that, of major concern is the railing on the stairs to the second level. At the top the railing is about knee height, offering no protection at all if we stumbled. The bannisters are about a foot apart, meaning any of our children, and in deed the adults, could easily fall/climb both through and over them to the first floor level below, such is the gap. Our 10 year old summed it up by saying "Well, at least the sign is OK" because their street signage is about the only thing not in need of a major overhaul!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

While in Te Anau we used their brochure to select a reservation. Upon arrival, we found our room to be in disrepair. The lights didn't work, the rooms were cold and moudly, the walls were peeling off, and there was a mouse-trap by our entrance. The chairs had human hair bunched on the backs. The sheets in one bedroom were stained with something. We left as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
473 reviews
6.9 mi away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Longbourne Lodge Country Motel
7.8 mi away
Bonnie Knights Motel
Bonnie Knights Motel
#3 of 4 in Mosgiel
37 reviews
7.9 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Village Motel

Address: 594 Great King Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlands Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Woodlands Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing