We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good value in Invercargill”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shiny Paua Motels and B&B
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“VERY good value in Invercargill”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I'm not going to repeat what other reviewers have said about this motel. It isn't five star but it is clean, roomy, well equipped and comfortable and GOOD VALUE. We had a studio unit which is in a block of four units. There are also backpacker rooms that we didn't see.The proprietor is a wonderfully affable host. The sign board calls the business "te Shiny Paua" which is not a spelling mistake. Our host has used the definite article from the Maori language. A bit of gentle Kiwi humour. It is a short walk to the centre of the town and an even shorter walk to the Invercargill Workingmen's Club which puts up a low-priced, high quality buffet meal Thursday to Sunday evenings. We recommend both!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
healesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

well looked after by agnes ;especially with breakfast homely atmosphere comfy bed ;a good price for a single traveller; stayed there dec 2010 and jan 2011 on my way and return to the antarctic ;thanks again agnes

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Agnes is an excellent host. She is sincere, obliging and helpful. The location is central and within walking distance of the Water Tower and the town centre. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKandLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed one night in a self contained unit here on the way to Manapouri. We didn't expect much from this place but it turned out to be pretty good. Booking a decent priced Invercargill accommodation online was turning out to be a challenge until we chanced upon Shiny Paua. The room was clean and quite large, we could park our car just outside the room so getting the luggage out was pretty easy. The room was a little old but the friendly owner more than made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here whilst in town for a wedding. Owner Ag was awesome! Gave us great advice on what to do around town, directions etc... Even gave us a complimentary room upgrade - room was adequate, furnishings a little dated, but very warm and clean nonetheless. Property maintained nicely, decorated with unique gadgets like mosaic tables, hanging mirror mobiles, tin animal sculptures! Definitely felt like a home away from home, If I'm ever in town again I'll be staying with Ag!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.2 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashlar Motel Invercargill
Ashlar Motel Invercargill
#23 of 33 in Invercargill
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yarrow Motel
Yarrow Motel
#17 of 33 in Invercargill
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Court Motel
Heritage Court Motel
#19 of 33 in Invercargill
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiny Paua Motels and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiny Paua Motels and B&B

Property: Shiny Paua Motels and B&B
Address: 240 Spey St, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Shiny Paua Motels And B&B Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing