We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Great, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I regularly stay here for work. The staff are unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful and the motel is a short walk from the town centre where there are plenty of great restaurants. The rooms are large, warm and quiet and always very clean. The staff have always been very helpful when it comes to early check ins and late check outs.

Room Tip: Rooms set furthest from the road get most natural light in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDTBL1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your continued support for our business is much appreciated, thanks for the comments about our staff which is encouraging for us all here we are looking forward to seeing you again soon during your next trip to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
42
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Durahm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in February and we were very pleased with our stay. We were met in reception by Tony who could not have been more helpful if he tried! He provided us with maps and guides for the town and advised us on what to do and where to go. Our room was huge! Nicely appointed with a kitchen, dining table and fresh clean bathroom. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it! All in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks for your review. It is encouraging for us to get positive feed back and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your comment. We are delighted that you had a relaxing experience here and enjoyed our comfortable spacious rooms. Thanks for the generous comments about our staff and management which is also much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived tired and hungry at 8 pm, and with no reservation. The BW had two rooms left. Tony, the manager, could not have been more accommodating, and the rooms were immaculate and spacious. There is no dining room, but if you wish, breakfast is brought to your room at an appointed time. There are adequate choices on a checklist to be submitted the night before. We came to Invercargill in order to visit E. Hayes Hardware, home of "The World's Fastest Indian" memorabilia. We decided to explore the area a bit more, so the next afternoon we were back at the BW to book a room for another night, having checked out that morning. Our second room was even better than the first, as the motel is updating their bathrooms, and our room was one of these.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy_collinshamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Southland and it was great that you decided to return here for another nights stay. Thank you for staying with us and placing feedback. We do appreciate our guests feedback and the time people take to place their comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I often stay at at the Townsman Lodge and have always found it to be a great place to stay. Tony & Dorothy are extremely helpful and always make you feel very welcome. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and are always clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
It was great having you back to stay with us again recently. We always enjoy having guests return and appreciate you taking the time to place feedback on your visit. Thanks for your positive comments about our units and staff, we are looking forward to seeing you again hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is the fourth time I've stayed at the Townsman lodge , and yet again I've found it very nice, with good comfortable and well appointed room. My husband was in Invercargill for work and after a long day it's was pleasure to stay the night in.The staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Thanks to Tony and Dorothy..we love to stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evangeline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Many thanks for your positive remarks on our complex and staff here which are encouraging for us, we are looking forward to having you both staying here during your next visit to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have stayed at this Motor Lodge for many years on Business trips and since Tony and his staff took over the motel some years ago their attention to detail is faultless.
The rooms are immaculately presented ,exceptionally clean and tidy and the staff are most welcoming and helpful.
Tony has taken this property to a whole new level.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such generous comments, it is a pleasure to have you staying here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Townsman motor lodge had everything I needed ,Tony and Dot and Marissa were more than willing to go that extra mile to make sure our stay was good. Nothing was ever a problem right down to washing our work gear every weekend.I must mention the very grunty and hot showers real good after a day outside in the cold winter stay we had.
very handy location as it was just a quick walk cross road to countdown,burger king and a big shopping complex real handy.
rooms were always up to spec for us plenty tea and coffie clean towells ete etc.
Oh also the electric blanket was a must .
if i may add on the real cold nights we got in to the rooms and heaters going so this was awsome good that people think ahead.
Thanks Tony for everything hope to catch up next year and keep up the good work .

Room Tip: all rooms are quite as far as i could tell you wouldnt even know main street out side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many thanks for your generous comments about our establishment and staff here which is encouraging.
I has been a pleasure to have you both stay here with us and we are all looking forward to having you back here again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
Address: 195 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 modern, superior, spacious, motel apartment-style units, situated in a prime central location opposite a park and supermarket. Being only a short walk into the city centre including restaurants, shopping complexes, Workingmen's Club, Southern Institute of Technology (SIT), Splash Palace Aquatic Centre, Rugby Park Stadium, parks and gardens. Handy to airport, hospital, i-SITE, museum, Stadium Southland, velodrome and golf courses. Comprising of studio, 1 and 2-bedroom units, including a double spa bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing