We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ulysses National AGM 2014(Wellington Branch)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fantastic, 14 of us had booked 5 rooms for the weekend for the Wellington Branch and couldn't fault the service we received. Tony and Dorothy went out of their way to accommodate us with some changes that we made. They couldn't have been more helpful and their staff were also very friendly. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. We would recommend the Best Western Townsman to any one going to Invercargill.

Room Tip: Tell Tony what your needs are and he will do his best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here this week while travelling around the South Island. The 4 of us were really impressed with the cleanliness of the accommodation and the spaciousness of our unit. We had a 2 bedroom unit which gave us one room with Queen bed, one with twin beds. As we requested 4 separate beds they set up a 4th single bed in the lounge area which still meant plenty of room for us all. It looked as though the room had been completely renovated. There was no sign of wear and tear anywhere so we were really delighted to find this place. We also had a kitchenette. The staff were most helpful when we told them we needed to buy a new tyre and they showed us where to go. It was also an easy walk to the main shopping strip and a supermarket was on the opposite side of the street. Would happily recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne-aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great motel very close to the centre of invercargill so handy to the shops I like to visit namely H&J Smiths
We have stayed a couple of times now, this time for a horse event so enjoyed the spa bath in the evening. Thanks again, we'll be back

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank MaxandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for writing a review about our property, it was good to have you both staying with us again, yes our location is very central and just a short walk to the city centre including a major department store and restaurants, also being situated opposite countdown supermarket is very convenient. We hope to see you both again during your next visit to Invercargill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I recently attended a family wedding in Invercargill and chose to stay at Best Western Townsman Motor Lodge. What a great location! Easy walking distance to everywhere, and a supermarket right across the road. The staff are so helpful and friendly - Tony [Manager], Dorothy & Marissa get special mention. Nothing was too much to ask of them, and they always assisted with a smile and the correct information/answer. I will stay again on my next visit [whenever that may be!] My studio room was upstairs, but easily accessible and the staff took luggage up and down for me. The room was wonderfully large - just perfect for a 5 day stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your review, it was good to have you stay for a longer time and great that you telephoned us and booked directly with us. Also thank you for your comments about our staff which is really pleasant for us to read. We look forward to seeing you again during a future visit to Invercargill. Best wishes Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I regularly stay here for work. The staff are unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful and the motel is a short walk from the town centre where there are plenty of great restaurants. The rooms are large, warm and quiet and always very clean. The staff have always been very helpful when it comes to early check ins and late check outs.

Room Tip: Rooms set furthest from the road get most natural light in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDTBL1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your continued support for our business is much appreciated, thanks for the comments about our staff which is encouraging for us all here we are looking forward to seeing you again soon during your next trip to Invercargill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in February and we were very pleased with our stay. We were met in reception by Tony who could not have been more helpful if he tried! He provided us with maps and guides for the town and advised us on what to do and where to go. Our room was huge! Nicely appointed with a kitchen, dining table and fresh clean bathroom. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it! All in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for your review. It is encouraging for us to get positive feed back and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your comment. We are delighted that you had a relaxing experience here and enjoyed our comfortable spacious rooms. Thanks for the generous comments about our staff and management which is also much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived tired and hungry at 8 pm, and with no reservation. The BW had two rooms left. Tony, the manager, could not have been more accommodating, and the rooms were immaculate and spacious. There is no dining room, but if you wish, breakfast is brought to your room at an appointed time. There are adequate choices on a checklist to be submitted the night before. We came to Invercargill in order to visit E. Hayes Hardware, home of "The World's Fastest Indian" memorabilia. We decided to explore the area a bit more, so the next afternoon we were back at the BW to book a room for another night, having checked out that morning. Our second room was even better than the first, as the motel is updating their bathrooms, and our room was one of these.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy_collinshamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Southland and it was great that you decided to return here for another nights stay. Thank you for staying with us and placing feedback. We do appreciate our guests feedback and the time people take to place their comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#18 of 33 in Invercargill
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge

Address: 195 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 modern, superior, spacious, motel apartment-style units, situated in a prime central location opposite a park and supermarket. Being only a short walk into the city centre including restaurants, shopping complexes, Workingmen's Club, Southern Institute of Technology (SIT), Splash Palace Aquatic Centre, Rugby Park Stadium, parks and gardens. Handy to airport, hospital, i-SITE, museum, Stadium Southland, velodrome and golf courses. Comprising of studio, 1 and 2-bedroom units, including a double spa bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing