We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean, friendly motel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavarian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bavarian Motel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, clean, friendly motel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Good motel. Would stay again without hesitation. A bit too far from town to walk but taxi only $15 or thereabouts, plus drivers are friendly and happy to make recommendations for food/drink. Plus, if we drove ourselves one of us would have to be the sober driver. Altogether not a problem being out of town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you, NZBeerMonster (l do like the name, there must be a story there) for the great review.
We have a list in the compendium of the restaurants who will do complimentary transfers to and from their establishments.
Thanks for choosing Bavarian Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Great stay, friendly hosts, motel is away from the hustle and bustle of town, free internet a real bonus plus having a second television in the bedroom was a grand idea. Always good to get rewarded for staying though their reward program as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
BernieNapier, Thanks for the great review. You are always welcome at Bavarian Motel. We hope your business travels prove successful. We will see you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

First time visitors to Invercargill. Rooms spacious, clean, comfortable and had the best nights sleep. John and Amanda most helpful. We were traveling on to Te Anau and asked for a recommendation of where to stay and they offered to book ahead for us. Thanks for that, made things so much easier for us once we got to Te Anau. Would stay again and most definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thanks Jennifer & Brod for your great recommendation.
being a member of the Host Accommodation Group makes it easy to find accommodation in other places in New Zealand.
We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic.
Regards
Annabel & John
Bavarian Motel
Invercargill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a very nice 2 bedroom unit. Kitchen was complete, even has a oven. For dinner we went to a grocery store just down the street and baked our own meat pies for dinner. Everything was clean and tidy. The owners were very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seethworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for the review and great comments about Bavarian Motel.
It is always great to have international visitors to Invercargill and spend time here.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand vacation.
Regards
John & Annabel
Bavarian Motel
Host Accommodation Group member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

John and Amanda are great hosts, with a motel unit to suit your pocket and requirements. We always find the furniture very comfortable. Love the big comfortable beds, which is so important when you are on the road all the time. The motel is in a great location, not far from a supermarket if you wish to cook your own meals. And great when you are heading off to/towards Queenstown.

Room Tip: Tell John and/or Amanda what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks Miriam for the kind words. At the end of a long working the least we can offer is a bit of comfort and relaxation. You are always welcome at Bavarian Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Maybe it's just invercargill! But I found the accommodation rather average. It was promoted as 4 star and I've been to a lot of places before this was no 4 star accommodation. The couches were very uncomfortable and the bathrooms felt like a prison cell as the toilet and shower shared the same flooring and it felt like you could just be hosed off in it. On a plus side there was a faint trace of Internet that you could use and a small portion of food for breakfast as well As parking outside the unit and sky channels. Just like to know what I'm in for as the standard of 4 star accommodation is a bit different elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hetrogenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing our accommodation. I have checked the records and you used the internet without any problems, it appears. The lack of quality and comfort of the couch has not been brought to our attention before, (maybe guests are too polite to say). However, we always listen and will review our future purchases of furniture. Qualmark NZ is an independent organisation which assesses NZ accommodation and we are assessed annually for our standards. Bavarian Motel has been awarded 4+Star for the last 6 years. It would be great if you (hetrogenius) could remove the photo of the outside-garden view, as it is not our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Clean tidy accommodation at a reasonable price. A little bit out of town but not a problem as we have to drive everywhere anyway. Friendly helpfull hosts

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBavarian, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
It is always nice to meet great guests. Thanks for the great comment. We hope you make Bavarian Motel your choice next time you visit Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
3.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ashlar Motel Invercargill
Ashlar Motel Invercargill
#24 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.1 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asure Evergreen Motel
Asure Evergreen Motel
#26 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Motel

Property: Bavarian Motel
Address: 444 North Rd, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bavarian Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Motel is a 4-Star owner-operated property and a member of the Host Accommodation Group. We have ground-floor apartments each with separate bedrooms with parking at the door. Large warm comfortable & clean rooms. Free Fibre WiFi, 32" Smart TV with Netflix & Freeview. Our guests are warmly welcomed by Annabel and John who offer great southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bavarian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing