We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bavarian Motel
Nearby Hotels
Ascot Park Hotel(Invercargill)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Tayesta(Invercargill)
US$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homestead Villa Motel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Lodge Motel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
295 on Tay Motel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelvin Hotel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Heritage Court Motel(Invercargill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
25
15
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
15
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bathroomgood sizewould stay againclean tidyfriendly serviceelectric blanketsliving roombluff oystersroad noisegreat place to staythe main roadcomfortable bedthe kitchenannabelnetflixrecyclingunit
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed one night and found the rooms were extremely clean and tidy. However we found the bed very hard and road noise was very noticeable during the night. It is some distance from central town but that didnt worry us. If you are after cleanliness and value i would highy recommend the hotel. If you are after 4 star luxury i would suggest staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: As far from the road as possible
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your review of Bavarian Motel. The comfort of the beds is something we always consider when we purchase new ones. We know our guests travel and are well informed about bed comfort. Bavarian Motel appreciates you great comments about cleanliness.
We are becoming aware that the Trip Advisor guest review rating is more important than the outdated Qualmark Star rating system.
We hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Good motel. Would stay again without hesitation. A bit too far from town to walk but taxi only $15 or thereabouts, plus drivers are friendly and happy to make recommendations for food/drink. Plus, if we drove ourselves one of us would have to be the sober driver. Altogether not a problem being out of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you, NZBeerMonster (l do like the name, there must be a story there) for the great review.
We have a list in the compendium of the restaurants who will do complimentary transfers to and from their establishments.
Thanks for choosing Bavarian Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Great stay, friendly hosts, motel is away from the hustle and bustle of town, free internet a real bonus plus having a second television in the bedroom was a grand idea. Always good to get rewarded for staying though their reward program as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

BernieNapier, Thanks for the great review. You are always welcome at Bavarian Motel. We hope your business travels prove successful. We will see you next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

First time visitors to Invercargill. Rooms spacious, clean, comfortable and had the best nights sleep. John and Amanda most helpful. We were traveling on to Te Anau and asked for a recommendation of where to stay and they offered to book ahead for us. Thanks for that, made things so much easier for us once we got to Te Anau. Would stay again and most definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thanks Jennifer & Brod for your great recommendation.
being a member of the Host Accommodation Group makes it easy to find accommodation in other places in New Zealand.
We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic.
Regards
Annabel & John
Bavarian Motel
Invercargill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a very nice 2 bedroom unit. Kitchen was complete, even has a oven. For dinner we went to a grocery store just down the street and baked our own meat pies for dinner. Everything was clean and tidy. The owners were very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seethworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHorn, Owner at Bavarian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for the review and great comments about Bavarian Motel.
It is always great to have international visitors to Invercargill and spend time here.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand vacation.
Regards
John & Annabel
Bavarian Motel
Host Accommodation Group member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews