We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stay here when on business trips to Invercargill, hosts are always very accommodating. This is a classic Bella Vista - the chain has a good standard and hosts add their own touches. Handy location - able to walk into town for dinner to the supermarket. On shuttle run from airport which meets every flight and you don't need to book the shuttle before hand. Sorry to see the current hosts are retiring. Student house behind can be a little noisy so try to get rooms on LHS of property as you drive in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
34
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We recently spent six nights here and had to have a 'cot' shifted into the room. That I can accept. What I cant accept is that when we asked if we could have a topper pad because the cot was like lying on the floor - the proprietors acknowledged that they knew they were hard and told us to just fold up some blankets and put them on top of the mattress! We constantly run out of necessities that are usually supplied. Even though we had made arrangements when we booked to have the extra bed put in, this was not done until after we arrived - as was the extra 'kitchen' stuff and bath linen. Rather poor effort. A motel up the road actually lent me a topper pad. Shame on you BellaVista

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 648Raewyn55_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavista_inv, Owner/Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It certainly was extremely disappointing to hear that you felt our service was not up to standard. We certainly pride ourselves on offering excellent service to all of our guests however on this occasion we seem to have dropped the ball based on your feedback therefore please accept our sincere apologies. Unfortunately we did not have a topper pad available however based on the feedback we most certainly will be making an investment to have one in the future. In normal circumstances we would have offered you an alternative larger room however as you were aware we were completely full during your stay. It’s unfortunate that we were unaware that you were unhappy during your stay as given the opportunity, we would have rectified any issues immediately.
Warm Regards...Glenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at the BellaVista Motel for one night, having already been booked in at another motel further out of town (which was filthy), hence the move to BellaVista. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly chap who was very accommodating. He even gave the kids one free hour of Hot Spot useage! We had an upstairs room, with a QB in the main area and a small room off the kitchenette area with 2 single beds, the bathroom was spotless and had a lovely shower over a large spa bath. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the bedding was lovely, fresh and the beds were well made. The size of the room/apartment more more than sifficent for our one night stay and would definately use BellaVista again when travelling to Invercargill. We have also previously stayed in other BellaVista motels and found the service and rooms to be fantastic.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A friendly host. A very clean and functional large studio unit. Colour scheme is standardised for what we found out is a nationwide chain of dependable offerings. They threw in a short connection to the Internet which was handy for checking email [Wifi is still a limited offering in much of NZ].

It is on the main road out of town and only a few blocks from 'down-town'. Across the road is a Burger King, a household goods store and a gardening store.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soundsverygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just a quick overnight stay - we arrived late evening to a lovely warm and cosy room. Glenda was very accommodating and had left our breakfast for the morning in the room as well. Clean and tidy rooms - great service. The Motel is located on the drive into Invercargill and is very central to the city centre. Restaurants, petrol station and supermarket all easily accessible from this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Having stayed at a number of Bella Vista's, they are what they are. Clean, tidy, but small and ordinary. Check out was friendlier than check in but overall it was just a motel. If you get it for a good price than it will do just fine. Did stay in a studio room so others may have been better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chchgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This new looking motel is on the main road out of Invercargill with a Pub directly opposite the front door serving food. The welcome could not have been more friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 7, it was enormous...entrance lounge, lounge/diner/kitchen area, large double bedroom and massive bathroom with spa bath and a separate shower.
There was a little road noise, but only if the windows were open.
Behind the reception area was a quiet grassy oasis to sit and contemplate your next move.
Lovely stay in this one

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 240 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#7 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing