We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great to see new management have taken over this Motel.
I have stayed here 3 times in the past 6 months...
First time was a nightmare and I swore black and blue, that I would not come back... the service was poor and the room was cold and average.
The following week was send back to Invercargill and HO booked me here.. and again the service was poor.
3rd time was big improvement in service..The new managers introduce themselves to me.
I haven't experienced the renovations yet... the room where dated and cold.
Looking forward to seeing the changes

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavista_inv, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Otagopete,
Thank you for your comments, I'm sure when you stay next you will notice the improvements to the property have not stopped. We have now been managers here for 3 months and the refurbishment is almost complete, come and experience the difference when next in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

what a delightful couple running this unit i couldn't say enough nice words about them and so helpful,they are getting the place up and running and doing a great job,so make sure you stay there. johnmahia

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mahianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavista_inv, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi johnmahia,
Thank-you for your encouraging words about your recent stay with us. Janelle and I thoroughly enjoy hosting our guests and really appreciate our guests taking time to review their stay. We have only been here only for a short time and in that time we have almost completely refurbished the entire complex. This has been a challenging task for a busy motel to undertake, and minimise any disruption to our guests, but with completion due this month the rewards for our guests will be fantastic. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed in this motel over two years ago and swore I would not return, but fortunately there has been a long overdue change in circumstances and new faces.
This trip it was an absolute pleasure to stay here, the wonderful service I have become accustomed to while staying in local Bellavista's has returned to this one.
Super friendly and helpful managers, Janelle and Selby have made an immediate positive impact of the motel. Many thanks to you guys for a memorable stay. Rm 3, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.

Room Tip: Room 3, the bed was super comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavista_inv, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank-you Steve F for your encouraging words. The transition of this Bella Vista Invercargill is still in it's infancy with many more improvements to come. New carpet , bedding and bed linen is completed. New Tiles and vinyl is on its way. New furniture, painting and redecorating is now underway and then there will be a few more nice surprises for our guests when they arrive.
We are looking forward to an exciting future with Bella Vista Invercargill and guest satisfaction is paramount without question.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for a week in a newly renovated room, One of the most comfortable motel beds I have ever stayed in. Brand new carpet.

Nice place close to town.

Hosts (and the cat) are very friendly and accommodating.

One draw back is there is no cooked breakfast option.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavista_inv, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear LeeA1
Congratulations and thank-you, you are the first person to review our motel since taking over 2 weeks ago, your kind words are our incentive to make all our guests stay, a happy and memorable one. As you have commented, we are in the process of refurbishing the entire complex including bedding, furniture decoration and facilities for our guests comfort. We will also provide some good old 'kiwi hospitality'.
Janelle and I look forward to your return and to be able to show you even some more improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

another good bella vista though lacks teh littel things that makes ones liek dunedin better.

room clean and tidy and has basic sky. Heater very very noisy and damn cold at night, paper never got delivered. everything there but could do a bit better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stay here when on business trips to Invercargill, hosts are always very accommodating. This is a classic Bella Vista - the chain has a good standard and hosts add their own touches. Handy location - able to walk into town for dinner to the supermarket. On shuttle run from airport which meets every flight and you don't need to book the shuttle before hand. Sorry to see the current hosts are retiring. Student house behind can be a little noisy so try to get rooms on LHS of property as you drive in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We recently spent six nights here and had to have a 'cot' shifted into the room. That I can accept. What I cant accept is that when we asked if we could have a topper pad because the cot was like lying on the floor - the proprietors acknowledged that they knew they were hard and told us to just fold up some blankets and put them on top of the mattress! We constantly run out of necessities that are usually supplied. Even though we had made arrangements when we booked to have the extra bed put in, this was not done until after we arrived - as was the extra 'kitchen' stuff and bath linen. Rather poor effort. A motel up the road actually lent me a topper pad. Shame on you BellaVista

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 648Raewyn55_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavista_inv, Owner/Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It certainly was extremely disappointing to hear that you felt our service was not up to standard. We certainly pride ourselves on offering excellent service to all of our guests however on this occasion we seem to have dropped the ball based on your feedback therefore please accept our sincere apologies. Unfortunately we did not have a topper pad available however based on the feedback we most certainly will be making an investment to have one in the future. In normal circumstances we would have offered you an alternative larger room however as you were aware we were completely full during your stay. It’s unfortunate that we were unaware that you were unhappy during your stay as given the opportunity, we would have rectified any issues immediately.
Warm Regards...Glenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 240 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#7 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: £67 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing