We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Owners and Comfortable / Spotless Rooms”
Review of 388 on Tay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
388 on Tay
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 854 helpful votes
“Helpful Owners and Comfortable / Spotless Rooms”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our last stay in NZ after more than 3 weeks. The motel was neat and clean with an amazingly spotless bath. We got one of the corner suites (only 2) that has a very large room and large living area with kitchen. Dianna was very helpful about suggesting restaurants (Little India -best Indian food in NZ and 3Bean Cafe for breakfast) and several sights for us to see. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
54
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We loved staying here - very clean & modern room. Also snuggly warm with a comfortable bed. Service was excellent - think it was Dianna who checked us in. She was lovely - friendly & helpful. Definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyScottNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Dianna and Keith were most entertaining hosts. 50+ TV which allowed us to watch 6 Notions Rugby. Room spotlessly clean and comfortable. Car parking easy. Room quiet despite being near to main road. good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cranmorebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Modern motel, a bit of a stroll to town but not too far to walk. I always have a car so I have no real concerns about location. Quiet motel on the main road. Warm with spacious rooms. Friendly and helpful. I have been staying in Invercargill for the past 11 years and so far this is the best value for money motel that I have found.

Room Tip: I always ask for rooms away from the road, so far I haven't been dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstravellernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

well appointed rooms, spotless, comfy beds. Close to town and sports centers. we stayed just 2 nights, would definitely stay again, new motel, beds lovely!
recommend to anyone. Hosts lovely, and welcoming

Room Tip: all good rooms, on a main road, but didnt notice any noise, excellent well run motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We booked a motel room here after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious, with king sized bed, kitchen and bath with both shower and tub. Everything was clean and well-maintained. Wi-fi was free. Staff was friendly. We arrived on bikes on a wet, misty day and were given a room with a whirlpool bath. The location is on the main highway going to Dunedin, but the room was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We echo all the wonderful comments that other reviewers have made. Absolutely awesome owners - couldn't believe it was 6 years old. Room was immaculate thoughtfully decorated and kitchen equipped with everything. Reasonably priced for high season and quiet. Loved being able to do a little laundry and Dianna generously let me have a bit of space of their private line. Just a few minutes walk to grab a lovely bottle of wine and short drive to CBD. Bed sooo comfortable. Thank you Keith and Dianna your business and yourselves are an absolute asset to Invercargill.

Room Tip: Would ideally request rooms further from road to ensure quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yourchoic e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 388 on Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 388 on Tay

Property: 388 on Tay
Address: 388 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#7 Business Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
388 On Tay Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing