We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, nice place”
Review of Colonial on Tay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial on Tay
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great stay, the motel is located in a good location. We had a friendly and warm welcome, very nice rooms, nice couch and nice TV,plenty of space, clean, and very comfortable accommodation. Thank your very much, we will be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Duguevara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Although I did not stay here, I went to buy a topper pad because the bed in my room was sooooo uncomfortable, and asked a staff member at Spotlight if they had any. No they didnt, but the lovely lady told me to come to this motel after six oclock that night and she would lend me one. This I did, and when I arrived it was ready and waiting for me - they didn't even take my name or phone number. Now that's trust. Thank You SSSSSooooooo much. I will come to you if we ever come back to Invercargill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank 648Raewyn55_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed two nights in this excellent motel which has good facilities. Comfortable, spacious accommodation with good selection of toiletries, teas and coffees. Helpful, friendly staff and free wifi. Centrally located so easy to visit the places we had come to explore

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferCashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We arrived in Invercargill after 5 o'clock with no motel booking. We tried two other motels. One was very tired and the other offered a very expensive 'studio room' which was small and very basic -the bed was the only place to sit. Colonial on Tay was like coming home; a living room, separate well equipped kitchen, two bedrooms, a bathroom with shower, and even free wifi! The motel was clean, tidy and warm and had an efficient heater in the living room and electric blankets. All this at a reasonable price and with a helpful host. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We are a family of 5 adults and needed a home for 4 days. The 2 bedroom motel we booked at Colonial on Tay was perfect. Clean, modern, big and roomy. It was serviced every day which we hadn't expected and what was really great was the lovely selection of teas every day and even plunger coffee sachets.

The shower was good with plenty of hotwater and pressure. The beds were comfy with efficient electric blankets. The lounge had a big heater which we needed as well.

The kitchen was well appointed and there were plenty of utensils, plates, cups and glasses.

The shared laundry was adjacent and for $6 a load to wash and tumble dry or line dry including soao powder was good.

The location was good - $8 taxi ride to town and just 5 minutes drive.

The hosts were very friendly and always available. We will definitely stay at this motel again on our next visit to Invercargill.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed for one night when passing through Invercargill to Te Anau. Owners were friendly and welcoming. The unit was large with a lounge dining area, fully equipped kitchen and good sized bedrooms. Even though the motel is on the main road there was no traffic noise in the room and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Need to stay in Invercargill
For more than just a day?
You need to look no further
Than Colonial on Tay

The hosts are warm and friendly
And most obliging too
What e'er you need, they'll do their best
To sort it out for you

The motel's near the CBD
Queen's Park and other sights
Christine and John will give you hints
'Bout where to dine at nights

Mine host took me out cycling
I thought that really neat
To have a guided tour on wheels
A very special treat

For families, pets and working folk
This is the place to stay
Don't hesitate, decide the dates
And book it right away


A fabulous week at a motel which felt so very comfortable and welcoming. Thank you ever so much C and J...we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaudeAshburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yarrow Motel
Yarrow Motel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial on Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial on Tay

Address: 335 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial on Tay 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial on Tay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial On Tay Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing