We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 15 Invercargill B&B and Inns
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like staying at home”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

excellent stay at Fernbirds. with a warm welcome from jenny and Ian. the house is lovely, breakfast healthy and good. we enjoyed a guided walk to see some birds with Ian. our son even had his own room and felt at home immediatly (had some toys in the room). we were able to cook diner that night as we arrived late and during a crowded motorbyke event.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adada_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had the pleasure to stay for (only) two days at the Bushy Point B&B over new years eve 2012. It was a perfect stay, one of the best we had during our trip, despite the rather bad weather, something like visiting old friends who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Starting from the generous bedrooms and comfortable beds, the nice welcome coffee (and hot chocolate for our kids) to the hearty and healthy breakfast with freshly baked bread, oatmeal, fruitsalad and cereals, everything was just very,very nice. But the icing on the cake so to say is the personal care that both Ian and Jenny show for their guests. Just to give one example: We saw their beautiful glass art work and we were wondering where we could buy it. Jenny just called the artist and despite him just returning from holiday he created a nice glass-Tui for us. I could go in and on about their help and recommendations, but i suggest you just go and experience true NZ hospitality for youself...you wont regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I spent a week with Jenny and Ian and was treated wonderfully. My room was bright and airy with large windows. Birds of all kinds were always in view. The bedding was luxurious and comfy, the shower hot and invigorating. Jenny provided a lovely, healthy breakfast - exactly perfect for my day.. The forest walk - about 15 minutes, or for the more observant an hour, is varied and at the midway point provides a lovely view of the ocean. You feel like you are on the very tip of Kiwiland and should be able to see Antarctica. Luckily you are warm, not cold. This is like staying with a very good friend who gives you a beautiful room in her cozy home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelovehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

You would not expect to find such a lovely bush-clad b&b only 5 minutes from the centre of Invercargill. The efforts Ian and Jenny have gone to rejuvenate the bush surrounding their home is quite clear and it has been well worth it. Taking a guided stroll through the native bush was an enjoyable and educational evening and morning activity and so different to any other place we've stayed, native birds and plants were pointed out and well explained.

The bedrooms were extremely clean and the beds comfy. I marked only as very good due to the shared bathroom facilities off the corridor, however they were well kept and also very clean.

Breakfast was continental style with fresh home-made bread, lots of cereal and a beautiful fresh fruit salad.

Ian and Jenny were both very knowledgable about the surrounding area and sights for visitors which really helped plan the next day through thr Catlins.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claregodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warburton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Unfortunately we did not get spend longer here, the rooms were VERY clean and well presented, and the beds were so comfy, I have stayed in 5 star hotels that have not had beds this comfortable. The hosts go to great efforts to make your stay a memorable one. We love the tour of the grounds to see the native plants and birds. Not one complaint, thank you Ian and Jenny.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loweswater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I cannot praise this B& B highly enough. Not only is the accommodation spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the breakfasts delicious but also Ian and Jenny made us feel welcome and totally at home from the moment we arrived.
We stayed for two nights and on our first morning we set out with them both after breakfast to explore the fernbirds reserve on their property. They have spent many years developing this area, which is close to the estuary, restoring the native habitat to allow the indigenous birds to return and breed here. This has meant eliminating pests and predators to ensure the survival of the beautiful birds we saw on our visit, which included the elusive fernbirrd, fantails, tui and bellbirds amongst others. Ian and Jenny were adept at spotting the inhabitants of their conservation area, so we gained much knowledge from our experience which also included detailed information on the varied plants and trees within the reserve.
The couple of hours spent in Ian and Jenny's company that mornning will be one of abiding memories of our 5 week holiday to NZ..
As an additional bonus Ian and Jenny have two adorable corgis, Raki and Pippa who are delightful little dogs. I enjoyed my cuddles with them !
To enjoy this very special place, do book well in advance, it is deservedly popular.
Thanks to you both for your company, we thoroughly enjoyed staying with you.

Room Tip: Our bedroom had a private bathroom and separate toilet in the corridor, directly. opposite our door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Our stay with Ian and Jenny, the proprietors of Bushy Point, began on the day of our 5th Anniversary; their typical audience consists of birders, not necessarily lovebirds. My husband was entirely responsible for selecting this homestay, which turned out to be a pleasant experience and one American travelers should avail themselves of while in New Zealand.

As the only guests that night we had our run of the first floor where there are three bedrooms, one bathroom, toilet, kitchen (where you can make your own meals) and both a living and dining room. As this property is also recognized as protected reserve and part of the estuary, most of the rooms feature beautiful views of birdlife and the native flora (a guided tour which lasts 45 minutes to an hour is included with the stay). A great breakfast was provided in the morning, which offered lots of options regardless of dietary restrictions (Americans may want to avoid the Marmite if offered).

HIGHPOINT: The conversation with the proprietors was exceptional; spending time discussing life with the locals is really the best way to learn more about the country, its customs and the views held by Kiwis of the world.

CONFUSING: The GPS cannot find this property, even when programmed with the proper address. Probably due to its ecological designation, our Garmin seemed to think we were off-roading in park rather than arriving at a home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whattorent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invercargill
3.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
312 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
368 reviews
3.2 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.2 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Invercargill
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast
Address: 197 Grant Road | Otatara, Invercargill 9879, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Minutes drive from Invercargill airport and 25 minutes to the port of Bluff, our comfortable secluded eco friendly B&B is situated on 4.5 Hectares of private reserve with a population of South Island fernbirds. It is the perfect place to stay before travelling to Stewart Island or Catlins or as a base to explore Southland. Wake up to the dawn chorus of Tuis and Bellbirds. A slice of New Zealand the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed And Breakfast Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing