We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Invercargill's special gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 Invercargill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This place has it all, great B&B accommodation, friendly hosts who still enjoy what they do. The best is, for serious birders wanting to see the elusive fern bird, it is an easy board walk through the wetlands.
Jenny has locating them down pat, forget the normal rules of birding, talk, make noise with your feet and whistle and take the two corgis for extra noise. Curiosity gets the better of this shy bird and for seconds only, it pops out to see what the racket is about. If you are lucky, it flies to a higher perch and you realise this bird was not made for flying but scuttling though the wetland reed beds that are waist high.
That's why you need Jenny and the board walk right throughout the middle of this private sanctuary.
A bonus is the pied fantail gathering in masses around you. Their extraordinary beautiful tails fanning to scare up insects. A fun and cheery bird.
If you can't stay and what a shame it is if you don't, Jenny will take you out for a personal tour for the paltry sum of $20. Best $20 I have invested in a bird guide. By the tenth fern bird I was one happy birder.
Be warned don't look for the yellow signs to Fern Bird board walk, they have been taken down. If you do follow some yellow signs you will end up in a conservation regeneration area without a fern bird in sight.
Just drive to the end of Grant Road and look for number 197. Your fern bird adventure is about to start.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Ian and Jenny are wonderful, friendly hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and for our stay to be enjoyable. Our room was lovely, very comfortable and clean. It was lovely to wake up to bird calls and hear no traffic noise whatsoever. What was exceptional is the effort Ian and Jenny have put into restoring and maintaining the natural ecological environment, particularly for the endangered fernbird. The reserve is also a most beautiful place. The highlight of our stay was a long guided tour of the reserve and the explanation of the birds and plants. I highly recommend Bushy Point Fernbirds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian G, Owner at Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your review christined.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Ian and Jenny go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The whole place is in an area of unbelievable beauty, and what they have done in terms of the conservation and regeneration of their land is truly amazing! They are both very knowledgable about the bird and wildlife in the area, and are happy to take you on guided walks to look at the wildlife and maybe even spot at Fernbird! The room is very clean and the bed sooo comfortable, it's hard to drag yourself out of it in the morning!! The breakfasts are delicious (and healthy) it's only a pity that we could only stay there for 1 night, we could have quite happily stayed there much longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_Wide_05_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian G, Owner at Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to give all our guests the same experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Staying with Jenny and Ian at Bushy Point Fernbirds B&B was like going to stay with friends. We had a fabulous time there, and couldn't fault the hosts. The bed was absolutely divine and the location intensely quiet. Had the best nights sleep ever, and we found it difficult to drag ourselves out of the bed in the morning it was so delicious, but a breakfast banquet was calling, as were the fernbirds (and Tuis and Wood Pigeons)! We had a quick walk around the birdwatching track before tucking in to a scrumptious breakfast.

The hosts have spend 20 years regenerating and revegetating this sanctuary, and it you are into bird watching and want to learn more about NZ native (coastal) vegetation, then this is the place for you.

You have the run of the kitchen to cook your dinner, and although the facilities are what you might term 'rustic', you should find everything you need there for a really relaxing stay.
Highly recommend this accommodation if you are into conservation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beerwench36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

excellent stay at Fernbirds. with a warm welcome from jenny and Ian. the house is lovely, breakfast healthy and good. we enjoyed a guided walk to see some birds with Ian. our son even had his own room and felt at home immediatly (had some toys in the room). we were able to cook diner that night as we arrived late and during a crowded motorbyke event.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adada_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had the pleasure to stay for (only) two days at the Bushy Point B&B over new years eve 2012. It was a perfect stay, one of the best we had during our trip, despite the rather bad weather, something like visiting old friends who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Starting from the generous bedrooms and comfortable beds, the nice welcome coffee (and hot chocolate for our kids) to the hearty and healthy breakfast with freshly baked bread, oatmeal, fruitsalad and cereals, everything was just very,very nice. But the icing on the cake so to say is the personal care that both Ian and Jenny show for their guests. Just to give one example: We saw their beautiful glass art work and we were wondering where we could buy it. Jenny just called the artist and despite him just returning from holiday he created a nice glass-Tui for us. I could go in and on about their help and recommendations, but i suggest you just go and experience true NZ hospitality for youself...you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I spent a week with Jenny and Ian and was treated wonderfully. My room was bright and airy with large windows. Birds of all kinds were always in view. The bedding was luxurious and comfy, the shower hot and invigorating. Jenny provided a lovely, healthy breakfast - exactly perfect for my day.. The forest walk - about 15 minutes, or for the more observant an hour, is varied and at the midway point provides a lovely view of the ocean. You feel like you are on the very tip of Kiwiland and should be able to see Antarctica. Luckily you are warm, not cold. This is like staying with a very good friend who gives you a beautiful room in her cozy home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetravelovehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
4.3 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Invercargill
59 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
The Manor Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 16 in Invercargill
50 reviews
5.6 mi away
Beersheba Estate
Beersheba Estate
#2 of 16 in Invercargill
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 16 in Invercargill
212 reviews
5 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
409 reviews
6.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast

Address: 197 Grant Road | Otatara, Invercargill 9879, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Invercargill
Price Range: £87 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Minutes drive from Invercargill airport and 25 minutes to the port of Bluff, our comfortable secluded eco friendly B&B is situated on 4.5 Hectares of private reserve with a population of South Island fernbirds. It is the perfect place to stay before travelling to Stewart Island or Catlins or as a base to explore Southland. Wake up to the dawn chorus of Tuis and Bellbirds. A slice of New Zealand the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushy Point Fernbirds Bed And Breakfast Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing