We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cooking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duo Restaurant - CLOSED

Duo Restaurant
Cuisines: International, European
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Good cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

An enjoyable meal in the middle of Invercargill, good food and friendly, efficient Service. If I had to find fault, the decor is a bit plain and the portions a bit too large. But really that is fairly minor, its a nice place and well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelvin Heights
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You could be put off by the neighborhood, but go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Duo was a real treat. The food was wonderful and the servers very pleasant. I had the roast duck washed down with a glass of 'Roaring Meg' pinot noir and both get my highest recommendation. My wife had the grilled chicken and a glass of local riesling and those were great too. Go and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best romantic dinner in Invercargill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Took my wife here for wedding anniversary. I love the simplicity of the menu, and everything was just fantastic. Great atmosphere, even for such a small restaurant, and the staff were smiling and helpful. Recommended wine was a perfect match for my perfectly cooked steak, and my wife loved the salmon. We will definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezza124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Invercargill Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Lovely food cooked to perfection with just the right portion size. What I also noticed was that the younger staff genuinely smiled and made their guests feel comfortable. Non- intrusive service and really enjoyable. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BMG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumsden, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey and worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Great for a special dinner. Food very well done. Incomparable service with great attitude. Good for nice lunch, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duo Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing