We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great service”
Review of Duo Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Duo Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

between the four of us we covered most of the small dinner menu, and the dishes were all great. The meals are made of NZ raised produce, of a good size, beautifully cooked, and fabulous flavours. Lovely wine selection and the staff made recommendations which proved excellent, as they do know their wines. The wait staff were friendly and attentive enough without it being intrusive. I would certainly recommend this restaurant for dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good option for lunch”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had lunch there while in Invercargill and they had a good menu with many options, including some burgers. Prices are from 15 to 20 NZD and food comes in good sizes. Service is efficient and location is in downtown. You can leave the car outside the restaurant or in the nearby streets for just 1 NZD per 1 hour. Opposite the restaurant is a shopping mall and also a taxi stand.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Good cooking”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

An enjoyable meal in the middle of Invercargill, good food and friendly, efficient Service. If I had to find fault, the decor is a bit plain and the portions a bit too large. But really that is fairly minor, its a nice place and well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin Heights
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You could be put off by the neighborhood, but go”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Duo was a real treat. The food was wonderful and the servers very pleasant. I had the roast duck washed down with a glass of 'Roaring Meg' pinot noir and both get my highest recommendation. My wife had the grilled chicken and a glass of local riesling and those were great too. Go and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best romantic dinner in Invercargill”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Took my wife here for wedding anniversary. I love the simplicity of the menu, and everything was just fantastic. Great atmosphere, even for such a small restaurant, and the staff were smiling and helpful. Recommended wine was a perfect match for my perfectly cooked steak, and my wife loved the salmon. We will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezza124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duo Restaurant also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing