We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly little place”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just an overnight on a powered site, with a very early start the next morning. Friendly people, though and a nice little place.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Nicest, Cleanest Holiday Park I have ever stayed at! We were camping and the site was very private & sheltered also. Just fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Gary and Karen are fantastic operators of holiday parks. even though we were just staying in a powered site, they made us feel at home, with a b&b feel. Best holiday park we stayed in during our 2 weeks trip in the south island. They took great pains with the little touches, from the use of gd quality toilet rolls to the cleanliness of the kitchen and bathrooms. The park is also a farm and guests get to pet the sheep in the compound. Simply the best and a joy for our brief time in Invercargill.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caravaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

January 2012
Cannot express enough how wonderful this holiday spot is. The fantastic hospitality of the owners is out of this world. We have stayed in a lot of places and have never felt as warm and comfortable as here. The cleanliness and equipment available here is superior. We attended our son's wedding in Invercargill whilst staying in the Lorneville Holiday Park, and they could not do enough for us to make the day so special. Especially thanks to Karen for her wonderful kindness to us and photography, without this we would have been without some fantastic keepsakes photos. The Grandchildren also loved feeding the orphaned "Annie" lamb. Hope you have great success in the future with your business here, we will be recommending this Park to all our friends as a "Great" place to put your feet up and just enjoy life.

Room Tip: Flat 2 so quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We arrived late on a rainy night & came across Lorneville Holiday Park. They could not have been more helpful and accomodating. The bunk room we stay in was very comfortable & warm.
The facilities were great, had a wonderful shower in the morning, which was just what we were needing after a long trip. would highly reccomend this holiday park to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Good amenities, everything is clean and well equipped (Kitchen, toilets, bath). Nice Tv room in a barn. Nice people. Free range eggs on sale. Public phone. And the lambs and animals! Feeding the lambs was a great experience, thank you lorneville holiday park. Good location if you have a car for visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorneviilleHP, Owner at Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. The lambs have now been weaned so no more 8am or 6pm feeding shifts!! We don't charge anything for the eggs thought, we give them to the nicest guests!! Many thanks once again...Karen and GAry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at Lorneville Holiday Park in november 2011. When we came in we were warmly en enthusiastically welcomed en even got a couple of fresh eggs from their chicken to eat for lunch. The camp site is very cosy with nice hot showers and a lovely kitchen. In the afternoon and morning we went to feed the lambs with both of the owners.

We surely recommend Lorneville Holiday Park for it's cosiness, but especially for it's owners!
Elkie and Erik, the Netherlands

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
3.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
359 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
200 reviews
4.3 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
59 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#7 of 13 in Invercargill
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park

Property: Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
Address: 352 Lorne Dacre Road | Highway 98, Invercargill 9876, New Zealand (Formerly Lorneville Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful park in the country, where you can feed lambs, sheep and alpaca. Only eight minutes from the city. "Exceptionally clean and beautifully presented, with kind little touches at every corner-best yet in six weeks in NZ" Lavina, UK. "Quiet and peaceful place, very clean, farm animals-great! Jochen, Germany." Two cottage options with own bathrooms and basic cooking: A one bed-roomed 1950's decorate feel with a standard lamp old fashioned decor, but all the modern amenities. A three bed-roomed which sleeps six with a foldout couch in the lounge, this is decorated in the 70's style with bright orange and brown colours. All cutlery, and crockery to match:). Three cabin rooms for the budget minded with just beds and use the shared facilities: One has two single beds, One has a double and a single plus a set of bunks so sleeps five. The other had two sets of bunks so sleeps four. Powered and non powered sites as well:). One two bed roomed Group Flat with own kitchen use shared bathrooms next door sleeps four in each room in bunk beds so sleeps eights in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorneville Lodge And Holiday Park Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing