We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, fab facilities, great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Central City Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fab facilities, great stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Fantastic stay at Central, the staff are so friendly and helpful. The facilities are great, spotless, and lovely comfy couches in front of wide screen TV in cosy lounge for night time. Very central location and staff are great for providing information on whats about and where to go.Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinaleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your 'tops' review, really appreciated! Apologies for delay in responding. It;s great that you were able to enjoy some time on the couch in front of the TV - good way to spend a winter evening. It's a pleasure to share information about our city; pleased to have been of assistance. Thanks too for your 'Highly Recommend' comment - just superb!
Kind regards
Wendy and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    22
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
48
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners were helpful and friendly we stayed for 3 night because of their lovely site and we loved Invercargill, which is not to be missed. Near by is a swimming pool super market and liquor store. Invercargill was brilliant. Highly recommended town and site.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenkyLangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your superb review of our park. It was great to have you stay with us for the extra days and to take the time to enjoy what both Invercargill and we had to offer you. You really got to know our city which was good. Thank you for staying with us.
Kind regards
Wendy and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed there for one night at the tent site. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Facilities are clean and the location is quite near to town center (about 10 min walk). My only negative point is that there is no free internet which I think should be standard these days. Besides that nothing to complain.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We appreciate that you did a great review of our park and apologise for not responding much earlier. We're pleased to say that since you were here we have commenced giving away free internet vouchers which people do seem to appreciate. Thanks again.
Kind regards
Wendy and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The campsite is clean and very close to the city center. The hosts are very friendly. The kitchen is well-equipped and has a comfy sofa to watch TV. If you want a quiet not overcrowded campsite then this is for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review of our park. You have been very informative and superbly positive. Please accept our sincere apologies for not responding much earlier. We do really value your comments.
Special thanks
Wendy and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

A perfect small site for any visit to Invercargill or the surrounding area, Excellent facilities and to cap it all a brilliant couple of hosts in Doug & Wendy. They were the perfect hosts and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was great and to ensure all the other guest enjoyed their trip to the Southlands. Well done and have a really busy Summer from those who do it in Dorset UK. .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Martyn & Jayne, sincere thanks for your very positive review which we read on Christmas Day thus it was a great way to start the day.
We aim to provide an all-round quality camping experience for our guests therefore it is rewarding to have you confirm that about your stay with us.
Thank you too for sharing your knowledge. Being new to the business we are keen to learn from experienced successful camp operators such as yourselves.
We hope you are continuing to enjoy what NZ has to offer. Thanks again, Wendy & Doug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This camping site was absolutely perfect. Ideal position to do short walks into the centre of Invercargill. Very friendly owners (kiwi couple) which are willing to help you with everything. Enough space for parking, comfortable and well equipted kitchen with lounge, clean and tidy toilets and showers. I can say nothing wrong against this place and I can highly recommended to all travelers ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you Aneta. We are really pleased to receive confirmation that it was a positive experience for you staying here with us in our camping park and that you are prepared to share that with others by way of your really positive review.
It is encouraging for us in our pursuit to be providing a quality camping experience for travelers to southern New Zealand. Thank you again. Wendy & Doug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Michael and Rosemary visited New Zealand from Somerset UK, in September 12. We noticed the Southlands were missed off the itinery of many motor home trips. If you have the time it was an area that we both enjoyed very much. In fact, it was one of our favourite area 's. We found Wendy and Doug the new owners, were extremely helpful and her enthusiasm to create an enjoyable place to stay was very important to her. Amenities were excellent, quiet yet not isolated. The site was central and within easy walking to explore Invercargill. The Botanical gardens, i site and shop ( Hayes and Son I think ) that stocks everything including vintage cars and the bike that Burt Munro broke the world record was definately worth visiting. After so much driving it was relaxing to allow ourselves time to rest and not have to move the van.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J, Owner at Central City Camping Park, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Michael & Rosemary we thank you very much for your very positive, thoughtful review. We are enjoying the experience of meeting people from all around the world and are aiming to provide a quality camping experience for our guests.
We are very pleased to have met your expectations and contributed to your positive experience while here in the south of New Zealand. Again we say a big thank you. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Wendy & Doug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
169 reviews
3.8 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lorneville Lodge and Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central City Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central City Camping Park

Property: Central City Camping Park
Address: 209 Tweed Street, Invercargill 9812, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet well-maintained park easy 800m walk into the city. Powered and unpowered sites. Quality bedroom units with bedding, TV, heater etc, 2 with ensuites and 2 without bedding for the more budget conscious travellers. High pressure showers, very well equipped kitchen-dining-lounge area, laundry, free Wifi voucher. Three things our guests regularly comment are how much they enjoy being able to park-up and stroll into the city, the very high standard of cleanliness and how very comfortable and relaxed they feel staying with us. We really are en route to everywhere! Just metres from the Southern Scenic Route - east to the Catlins & west to Fiordland, State Highway 1 - north to Dunedin & and south to Bluff and the Stewart Island ferry terminal, and just a few blocks from the city centre. Come check us out. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central City Camping Park Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing