We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sparky's terrible sense of hospitality.”

Sparky's Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sparky's Backpackers
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sparky's terrible sense of hospitality.”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Running a backpacker's in its own house is not a bad idea, but Sparky does it all wrong.

Despite the potential of the house deco (very alternative and interesting), Sparky forgot the base : hospitality !

Sparky, despite his cool Hippie look, is very stressed, very friendly and demonstrates many obsessive behaviours, in particular in regard to cutting the electricity bill. Not a bad intention at first, but so badly implemented as it turns out to be at the guest basic comfort expense !

Sparky switches half the kitchen lights off while you are still in there, double checks if you use the kettle not too long (same thing with showers) and summon you to use the toaster at half power only...
Still I do not get it, as lightning is less than 5% of house consumption, while his way overheated jacuzzi must account for 20%!!!

Very grumpy & unfriendly atmosphere with many unhappy backpackers. Will never go there again and strongly recommend to avoid the place !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    7
    9
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Here
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

beds and clothes are clean and comfortable, sparky is a nice guy, price is reasonable. wifi works and bathrooms are ok, so 4 Stars, and a recommendation. but dont expect a hotel, its just a backpacker hostel for peaople on a budget

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MouStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Sparkys for one night but wish it was more. Sparky (the owner) just went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Beds were comfortable, there was towels in the bathroom along with shampoo, toothpaste etc. But the best thing was the spa out the back and the adorable rabbits (in huts) in the back. This place was what a hostel should be - warm, welcoming, a little bit quirky and a great place to meet interesting people.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Worldweary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We were recommend by other traveler to stay in this place, even it's "backpackers", the whole atmosphere is more like a B & B, there is not only beds, you can find the kitchen is fully equipped, coffee, tea, cereal are all free. This place is cozy and chilled out. The TV room is very warm, not only they have a lovely fire place, but also the owner treated you more than a "paid guest", you felt you had been taking good cared.
And free WIFI, traveled for one week in NZ so far, internet are charged everywhere, it's slow and expensive, However, you find free internet here, and it's fast, not time or volume limited. Amazing! Obviously the internet is how important to me. :)
You get more than what you paid! on top of that, here is not expensive at all! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: There is a Hot tub at the backyard, you must try it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennieLiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Sparky does his best to make guests feel welcome and does well for a one man operation. He fires up the hot tub every night and all are welcome to join him in it (can't say I went in).
Could be a bit tidier and the shower leaves something to be desired. I have to agree with the other review kitchen is too small and there appear to be too many info shed projects

All that said I would say it is a decent place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The place is kind a like a home that has few extra rooms to fit people to stay. Place has very nice atmosphere with a lot of funny details in decoration. We stayed in a small room right next to living room (only a glass door + curtains separating us) but that didn't bother us. We had heard about the chocolate cake when we booked the place but had no idea what was coming. The cake (and the show) was something very unique and funny. Also, the cake was awesome! I really can recommend this place but its definately not for people who lack sense of humour!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juho H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We turned up freezing after a shark dive & jumped straight into the brand new spa pool...heaven. Just what we needed to warm up. The free champagne helped too!!

The place is very homey & comfortable. We had fantastic comfortable beds in the egyptian room and were toasty all night. The guys are very friendly and welcoming. Fay enjoyed the cake making!

will definitely stay again next time I am in Invercargill!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bavarian Motel
Bavarian Motel
#22 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparky's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparky's Backpackers

Property: Sparky's Backpackers
Address: 271 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sparky's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparky's Backpackers Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing