We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australian Travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Tayesta
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Australian Travellers”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Cannot say enough good things about this property, Situated close to the city centre, Queens Park, supermarkerts and service stations. The room was spacious, modern, extremely clean and very comfortable. The bathroom is modern with a wall heater, kitchenette modern with excellent amenities,. There is also a heater in the main area and electric blankets on the very comfortable bed, Good selection of Tv channels which can be viewed from the main area or the bedroom. The managers of the property are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble if you are seeking information. The whole property is clean and tidy and after a day of shopping or sightseeing it is wonderful to relax in the private hot tub spa room!! Definately recommend a stay at this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
It was a pleasure having you to stay, Margaret, and thank you for your thoughtful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in the small studio room that was newish. Extremely clean and well appopinted. The staff were all incredibly positive and friendly. Facilities were great. Location was perfect for me...on the main road in from Gore. Great selection of TV channels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy66lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Although our studio unit is small, we believe it is perfectly formed so are delighted you were comfortable for your stay (and rated it accordingly). Thank you Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I would definitely stay at this place again. The room was so much larger than we had expected, extremely clean, all the amenities you need even sky tv. Also the lady at the reception was a darling and made it very easy. Looking at this place from the road may not thrill you but, it's quite a nice comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
We are delighted to have surprised you and made you comfortable. We continually review and modernise the interiors of our units to ensure that they are at a good standard and that the amenities include those relevant to our guests, such as Sky Guest Select and free WIFI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed there recently for 3 nights during a work trip. Room was quite large with all the amenities you would expect from this standard of motel. The bed was super comfy. As it is at the bottom of New Zealand the winters can be quite cold. There was ample heating in the rooms and bathroom.
Reception was very friendly and helpful.

The only minor beef was the lack of free wi-fi. This is becoming critical for many people when booking accommodation anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review Joe R, and I am delighted that we made you comfortable during your stay. Feedback is important to us and we have taken your comment about free wifi on board and have increased our data allocation so that we can offer our guests free wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I was in Invercargill from 16 - 20th June 2013 with a group of ladies from W.I. for AGM. Our stay at the Tayesta was very comfortable. It was an exceptionally cold week and we were delighted to find the heaters had been switched on before we came in from our meetings to find the rooms warmed.
The staff were very helpful and when we had to stay an extra night because of cancelled flights they were prepared to find space for the 7 of us. Mike & Jan offered to take us to our meetings when required. Would recommend the Tayesta to anyone travelling to Invercargill.

Denise Gavin, Eketahuna, NZ

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review, Denise, we enjoyed having the lively and gregarious WI teams here to brighten up the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Tiny rooms and a smaller toilet than you get on a cruise ship. The 2 bedroom unit???? was very cold and 1of the electric blankets did not work. It was a great disappointment after having read other trip adviser comments.

Room Tip: Cottages seem to be a better option for south island of NZ
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnTayesta, Owner at Comfort Inn Tayesta, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. I can only apologise that the faulty electric blanket has coloured your view of your stay - if we had known it was faulty, we would have instantly replaced it to make you more comfortable. We have checked the heater in the unit and it is working so can only assume that the thermostat was turned low.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here after visiting Bluff. We arrived around 5pm and the friendly desk staff gave us a large studio room at a really good rate. I was also given a couple of recent magazines to read and keep if I wanted them. This Inn has a shop around the corner to walk to, or short drive to fast food and restaurants. We enjoyed our room which had table & chairs, full kitchen and also a sofa to sit on to watch TV instead of the usual propping oneself up on the bed. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.5 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Tayesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Tayesta

Property: Comfort Inn Tayesta
Address: 343 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Tayesta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Mostly ground-floor apartment-style units all with Free WIFI and LCD TVs with 50+ channels (Sky Guest Select service). The units are warm and quiet (double glazed). The 1 and 2-bedroom units have kitchens and the Studios have kitchenettes. All have complimentary tea and coffee, sparkling bathroom facilities and Guest controlled heating. Free parking. Extras include Cooked and continental breakfast, restaurant charge-back and delivery, guest laundry, children's play area. DVD player cot and highchair by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Tayesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Invercargill
Comfort Inn Tayesta Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing