We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel units”
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Motel units”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in the motel units, not the hotel, although the reception desk is the same. I think there must be a big difference as we were not impressed at all with the motel units. They were probably built in the 1950s and not much has been updated since. That has a certain charm, and I must admit the bed was comfortable, but when you have a big kitchen as they had in the 1950s, you expect a few amenities … like pots! To give the staff their due, they did mount an extensive search for a pot and a strainer so I could cook spaghetti. I tagged along and we did eventually find them … but really, when you advertise an equipped kitchen, shouldn’t there at least be a pot in the kitchen? The other thing that would have been nice is wifi (it was available in the lobby of the hotel which is separate from the motel units). However, for an overnight stay you could do a lot worse, and the motel units were significantly cheaper than the hotel rooms.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank covecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xlpete, Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
The Ascot Park Hotel was opened on the 16th of February 1980. The first units to be opened were the Motels. In 2011, I chose to remove the Motel units from the National Quality Assurance program "Qualmark" as all motel guests had access to the full Hotel facilities which include, pool, sauna, spa, workout area, 24 hour room service, restaurant and bar facilities which artificially inflated our star rating. These rooms remain popular with sporting teams and corporate travellers seeking cost effective accommodation. The rooms are cleaned chemically free and are great for allergy suffers.
In February 2012 these rooms had a soft upgrade which included, new flat screen televisions, drapes & bedspreads.
While of a modest standard the Hotel added 12, 1 bedroom apartments in 2011 to meet the needs of travellers requiring a higher standard of self-catered accommodation. All room types are available for viewing on www.ascotpark hotel.co.nz and care has been taken to ensure that the Motel rooms are differentiated on this site from our "Hotel Product".
The housekeeper following this review has been asked to check on the pots and strainers in these units and I would like to thank our reviewer for passing on such constructive feedback. Thank you Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    148
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
126
20
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohingaiti New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

would highly recommend this motel, we had a blast. The staff are happy to help with anything,or even just a smile. PETER ,the manager,is an amazing host,( he even likes dancing).The restaurant is great and easy to get to and the food is devine. I loved the fact that i could access the pool early. The beds are so comfy and you get everything you could want or need in your room.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 97 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xlpete, Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I have to thank Shelley for her comments and declare that over last weekend I played a part in showing her and best friend Ange around Invercargill and Southland.
Part of the reason I was able to do so is directly related to the Trust that owns this hotel, the Invercargill Licensing Trust (ILT).
What makes this Trust different is that it has a mandate to return the profits from our business and the other 25 or so other businesses it owns back to the community. Last year the ILT returned 9.3 million dollars (3.7 million ILT, 5.6 ILT Foundation) back to the people of this city.
Funding support of local festivals and events through the ILT & ILT Foundation is very much part of that funding, with The Bluff Oyster and Food Festival being no exception. It was the wish of Shelly's partner Dave who recently passed away to attend the Festival and I was placed in the privileged position of helping make that happen. Southlanders, the name give to people who come from this district are known for the friendliness and it was only fair that myself and others in the community were able to help Shelley acheive her goal. I should explain that Dave accompanied Shelley around in a wee box placed inside a nice wee bag. Apparently he had a great time and so did I! Thanks Shelley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel room had a great feature - 2 entrances. One is to the carpark where you can park your car right outside your room, the other is into the intermal corridor within the hotel. It is next door to the race course but is more than a walk from the center of town so a car is neccessary. The food in the restaurant was good but fussy with too many flavours and the wine list was decideledly middle of the road, verging on boring. The wireless broadband was interesting - it was expensive and was through a service provider that highjacks your homepage and filters the content. The filtering even affected the adverts within the online national newspaper. On the page were stories, photos and adverts, some of which were visible and some which showed the following message. "This has been blocked as it contains unsuitable content"!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xlpete, Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review Bob. While the Hotel is located 4km's from the city centre we provide courtesy transport to and from the airport and to any other city location.
The wine list comprises of 54 selections including 15 award winning wines from Central Otago that you will not find in too many lists around New Zealand.
Internet continues to be a source of real concern for the Hotel with no easy access to a fibre optic network we are challenged to provide a good link. We are working on this at present.
Recent New Zealand law with respect to pornography, downloading of movies and the threat of legal action for undertaking illegal activity has forced the Hotel to put filters in place to protect itself from actions of a few. As we become aware of the filtering of legitimate sites we are able to modify our filters and improve on customer access. Our internet charge of $5.00 a connection for100 megabytes of data is negotiable. Our guest compendium states if any individual feels that they are not getting value for money we are happy to negotiate a mutually agreeable fee. We provide free internet in two business computers in the foyer.
Communicating on Trip Advisor is great and we value all feedback. Thanks Bob for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Would recommend this hotel. We stayed for a night, the four of us two adults and two teenagers. We had a one room unit which was very tidy and warm. We dined at the restaurant at the hotel and it was the best meal out that we had had for a long time. Presentation was great and plenty of food on the plate. Well worth the money spent. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeCoalgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stay at Ascot Park when in Invercargill on Business. A great place for a good nights sleep, good restaurant and very comfortable rooms, especially the new rooms

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I arrived around 9pm one evening between Christmas and New Year, travel weary from Christchurch and without a booking, and were warmly welcomed at reception, and offered an excellent deal for a very nice hotel room. Even better, the restaurant was still open, and the bar served light meals through til 10pm so we didn't have to venture out again in search of dinner. We didn't stay long enough to use the indoor pool or other facilities, but the public areas, and facilities were all very inviting, and the staff all friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, very comfortable king sized bed, lovely bath and shower, great TV, nicely furnished. Really couldn't fault it - especially for the money. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - only downside (which could also be a bonus) is that this property is a bit out of the centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were very happy with this hotel, which we stayed in halfway through a trip around Otago and Southland. Having had to share a double bed in Queenstown, our teenagers were very happy to have a double sofabed each, while we had a queensized bed (plus a single) in a separate room. Spa bath, shower, dining table and chairs, kitchen equipped enough to cook two evening meals (microwave plus 4 hotplates, no conventional oven, but that's usual). We took advantage of the hotel's sauna, pool, spa and gymnasium. We had a hire car so the distance from the town centre was not an issue. Would definitely recommend to families.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing