We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute delight everytime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An absolute delight everytime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stay at the ascot Park hotel every three weeks while on a business trip, travelling most of the lower South island.
It is by far, the best hotel I have stayed at, and because it is so good I often opt for two nights here instead of staying in Wanaka.
I always stay in the new wing, room 100 or similar. The rooms are large, warm, modern and with everything I need. Good sized office desk, plenty of plugs etc. The beds are very comfortable and the unit as a whole has a great layout.

Although the room is fantastic, the thing that always brings me back is service and the resturant. The food here is 5 star +! Such a surprize on my initial visit, a very pleasant surprise. Fish of the day with pan fried scallops, vegetables, mussels all for $28! Although the resturant is dated and could do with a more modern look, the service is impecable and food delicious, fresh, immmaculatley presented. They will change anything you like and often dont charge for this luxury.

My room has a large seperate bathroom, complete with shower and spa bath, heated mirror etc. Appliances- ie iron, kettle and toaster are all known brands and good quality.
Room has two lcd tvs- One in the bedroom and one in the living area.

The complex has everything you need all under one roof- bar and resturant, conference facilities, mini golf course :), gym, swimming pool, filtered water etc.
I ALWAYS look forward to staying here and a lot of other people must feel the same as it is often out of vacancies- despite its large size- so book in advance to secure a good room.

Room Tip: the new wing- rooms 116-97 is the best if you want modern luxury. Definetley try the resturant, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineLG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    145
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
60
116
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

this was a bit of a comedy show trip. the first prob came when i went to use the laundry - was given the wrong tokens and broke the machine. took 25 mins before i could do my washing. I gave very clear instructions re an upgrade to a spa unit for our second visit 2 days later but they had forgot. restaurant food is patchy. they did very good oysters but the chicken livers were v average. the rosti was so dry it was was like fried cardboard and the bacon fatty . it had an awful beetroot jus which was just horrid. my partner said his caesar salad was salty. the gingerbread pudding was very dry. however the oddest moment came when my partner asked for a tap beer. it came out v flat. the waitress said "we have a problem with the gas but the beer is ok'..." no it wasn't.!! She took some convincing but she finally replaced it with a bottle of the same brew which amazingly sported a very fine head. Her badge indicated she was "in training' hopefully she wont be getting out anytime soon. Overall a good venue with lots of amenities.. A little effort and it could be great.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bustedblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
I took the time to respond directly to this reviewer due to the constructive nature of the feedback recieved.I thanked her for the great feedback in the first instance and apologised for our downfalls in the next breath!
It would be great to get it right all of the time but not always the case. I was able to take these comments back to my team and to use them as real examples of how we can improve our service.
Thanks once again Trip Advisor for giving clients a place to express their views!
Peter Ridsdale
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We recently spent a night at The Ascot and were very impressed. Last time we stayed was at least 20 years ago. We stayed in one of their newer apartment style rooms which had internal access to the restaurant and bar which was great as it was cold outside. We arrived rather late but as the restaurant is open until 10pm, this wasn't a problem. The food was beautifully presented and as good as some top class restaurants I have been to. Next morning we arrived for breakfast just after 9am and they already had the vacuum cleaner out - we didnt realise breakfast finished at 9. The lovely lady on the desk was very accommodating and we were able to order from the a la carte menu. Only disappointing thing about our whole experience at the Ascot was the hard poached eggs. Overall....fantastic and will definitely be my choice of accommodation when I return to Invercargill.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer apartment style rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
275 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the motel units at the Ascot Park Hotel at the beginning of March. Had intended to stay in one of the hotel rooms, but when I saw the price of the motel units on the website, ended up booking one of these instead. Units are dated, but large and clean. No traffic noise, but very thin wall between units, so we could hear all the conversations from the nextdoor unit. Ok value for what you get. Handy to the hotel if you want to use their bar or restaurant, which we didn't. Location was very good for us, but it is not handy to the centre of Invercargill.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We film a TV Fishing Show in Melbourne, Australia. We were recommended to contact Peter Risdale, Executive Manager of Ascot Park Hotel in Invercargill on the South Island of New Zealand. From to moment we spoke with Peter, he was so helpful and keen to ensure we had a fantastic time. The accommodation was first class and the food was excellent. Peter also gave us the best tourist advice and put us in touch with quite a few contacts for fishing, site seeing, cruises and much more. We had the best time we have ever had on a fishing trip/holiday, and certainly our best experience ever in New Zealand! This was our third time to NZ. If you are contemplating a trip to New Zealand, you cannot go past the wonderful hospitality of Peter Risdale and his staff at the Ascot Park Hotel. We highly recommend the Ascot Park Hotel.
Eric Morgan and Brian Sanders, That's Fishing TV Productions, Australia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Being in Invercargill over the weekend for a weekend we booked into the Ascot Park Hotel as that is where the wedding reception was to be held. We had previously booked on line and checked in on arrival.

What a great surprise. The room was a double with full sized bathroom complete with spa bath and shower, a full kitchen. A queen bed in the lounge, a king single and a king in the separate bedroom gave plenty of options.

The reception was superb with every detail taken care of. The food was superb, the wines of high quality and entertainment. Sure the wedding party paid for the reception, but the service was excellent.

I would recommend the Ascot Park Hotel as a place to stay, to dine and to enjoy hen next in Invercargill.

My wallet was also thrilled as the room rate was $174 per night for a high quality hotel.

Room Tip: All seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings-New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stopped here (Invercargill) with no bookings made - and decided to stay the night. We rang the Ascot Park Hotel to enquire re Pricing/availablility and meal options.
Were offered a motel room at a very reasonable price and told that the pub meals were great value.
Well- the room was great - thou 70's era,very clean/large and comfortable,quite -very spacious also.
Went to the bar,where the staff were great,and had a fantastic meal (blue cod)
Recommend!!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared well located,thou feel our room was more private than some of the others,table an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing