We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it Here”
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Loved it Here”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Unfortunately we only had a one night stopover here, I would have been quite happy to have stayed longer.

The rooms are a little dated but they are well equipped, clean and spacious, much bigger than many we encountered on our tour. This is a motel so we were able to park right outside our room and loading and unloading the suitcases was simple. The grounds/gardens of the hotel are well kept and compliment the hotel wonderfully, it's like a little oasis.

We were not too impressed with Invercargil and from this point of view one night was quite sufficient but I would happily have stayed at this hotel in all of our stops.

We booked a table in the restaurant and had a lovely dinner, we then retired to the bar where we felt relaxed and comfortable. This was one of only a few places we visited where you could get a decent pint (handle) of beer and it was reasonably priced too.

All of the staff that we encountered were professional, helpful and friendly.

We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinsteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for this great review. Sorry that Invercargill did not live up to expectations. I would like to think that we can assist those visiting our city with some good ideas about what to see and do..... Sometimes I think that locals are the worst at sharing what makes their city great!
Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    146
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
122
20
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Ascot Park when touring the South Island as part of our 50th Wedding Anniversary. This is a splendid and well organised hotel. We had arguably the best food here during our 3 week holiday. Well done.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
It was a delight to get this feedback on your stay!
Great to think that you included Southalnd on your itenerary on such a special occasion.
Cheers
Peter Ridsdale
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed overnight at the Ascot Park in Feb 2014 on the way to a cruise of Milford Sound. We were greeted on arrival by the Manager and given welcome orange juice. Staff were amazingly helpful and even one of the reception staff gave my partner a lift to a camera shop to sort out a problem! Our room was very clean and comfortable and the wet room shower was great. We did not eat dinner here though breakfast was very good indeed. The outside decking and pool area was very welcome after a long day travelling. All in all, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thank you and well done to all the friendly and helpful staff who really 'went the extra mile'.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macvonsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for this great response. I do remember the tour and especially the Tour Leader, Sally who has been on the New Zealand hospitality scene as long as I have.
It is a pleasure to host clients who love exploring all that Southland has to offer. We believe it is a hidden jewel in New Zealand's Crown.
Warm Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Warmth of the welcome, cleanliness of the bedroom and the high level of equipment were all very positive features. Dinner, too, was a pleasing experience, with a good menu and some imaginative preparation. We were served by an inexperienced member of staff in the dining room - she was mainly used to bar work - but she did a really great job.

One area for attention - the wifi set-up is cumbersome to work, slow to deliver and partly hidden behind a paywall; it really is time that major hotels such as this one consider fast wifi to be as 'standard' a feature for guests as plumbing. Nearly went for 3 stars on the basis of the existing wifi service, but - credit where it's due - the rest of the hotel is well-run.

Final thought - the breakfast options are complicated and hard to understand. Especially when having to focus so early in the day! Please simplify .... the broad choice ought to be "continental or cooked".

We would probably stay here again. The location is peaceful and nowhere is too far away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for this most constructive and imformative review.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and facilities but not good to hear the internet did not meet expectations.
We have spent considerable time and effort to make sure we have a good internet service but do have operational issues from time to time that challenge us.
While our internet is through an VDSL link, fibre is not an option to this part of the city (this does effect speed on rare occasions). While technology may offer solutions to this problem it remains a work in progress.
Great comment on the breakfast and while we used to focus on two basic options several clients advised us in recent years they needed more options at a lower cost or they would simply not stay, as their company would not pay any more than X dollars. We listened and adapted at the expense of revenue but the customers stayed. I think we will hang with the current choice but really respect your feedback. Love to buy you a coffee or drink when you are next in town.
Many Thanks
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a tour group. The first thing we noticed was how remote from town the hotel was. However as a group we secured complimentary hotel transport from Southland Museum.
We had a chalet style bedroom with a large double and a single bed. The bathroom was large but rather Spartan. The weather was poor but the radiators wand towel rail warmed the room adequately. The reading light over the bed was too bight and not restricted to the one person reading.
We ate in the bar and the restaurant. Both were good, but we thought the bar was better value.
The hotel is better than average but we would rate it as "Good" rather than "Very Good".

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long walk through internal corridors if you want to use the restaurant and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with respect to the Hotel following your recent stay. It was great to hear that your group were able to use the Hotel's couretsy van to get into the city and explore.
The Hotel has 3 dining options being the Tavern, Emberz Bar and Emberz Restaurant. All have different price and service points to ensure our clients have a range of options to suit their pockets.
While all the accommodation is on one level at the Ascot Park Hotel, on many occasions guests enjoy the opportunity to park directly outside their rooms as the result. We are happy to discuss with any client a requirement to move rooms if alerted to a problem and where circumstances allow.
Communication is the key to ensuring your stay at the Ascot Park Hotel is a great one! If you need assistance we are here to help you.
Warm regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in the motel and it was value for money. Room was spacious and newspapers provided. It comes with a fully equipped kitchenette. I'll stay here again if I am back in Invercargill. My husband went to the sport bar at the hotel side and met friendly locals there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agathabryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for staying at the Ascot Park Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your husband enjoyed sharing a drink with the locals. Hope that you are able to return again.
Best Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at the Ascot on polytech field trip and the service was absolutely amazing. Had a chat with the manager and he was just so polite and down to earth. Rooms were spacious, clean with spotless shower. Would definitely stay there again if I do get a chance. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you Rutu for posting this response. I look forward to seeing you again as your study gets more intensive.
Best Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
309 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing