We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This Hotel has all you need for a relaxing stay starting with big car parks, swimming pool choice of bars and great restaurant we enjoyed a meal of local shellfish and lamb with attentive staff and reasonable prices. The added bonus as we arrived in the rain was once inside the complex you can walk under cover to all amenities.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger slightly more expensive room spoil yourself you won't be disappointed good val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Glad to see you had such a great stay and enjoyed using the Hotel facilities.
Hope to see you in Southland again soon.
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    144
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
117
19
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed their during the 2014 Bluff Oyster Festival weekend, 23 to 25 May. Surprisingly, it was far from fully occupied, unlike other accommodation in Invercargill. I would have to rank it, in particular the bar, the restaurant, and room service as only "poor". KR (an Invercargill born and bred lad, 65 years ago, frequent world traveller)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I am very sorry that you felt so strongly about your Hotel experience. I would like to think that previous reviewers have found that we are attentive to customer needs and if things are not right then we are focused on fixing things.
If you make contact in person you will find that this is so.
Making statements about the Hotel in relation to the rest of the city is disapointing. Any reseach completed on the internet on the Hotel and its community ties will establish that we have and still are major contributors to the city and community. These actions do not include the activity of my management company the Invercargill Licensing Trust which returns on average 10 million dollars a year into Invercargill community organisations.
I am most happy to discuss your experience. If we let you down then let us know how and we will make changes to fix it. Customers are the single reason we are in business.
Best Regards
Peter Ridsdale
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
316 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the years and it is still the best choice. Friendly southern hospitality. Rooms are great. Restaurant and bar are rustic but good fun and breakfasts are very good. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for sharing this review and your feelings on your repeat visits to Invercargill and the Ascot Park Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as is your custom.
Warm Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hotel. Very nice rooms, clean, modern,excellent facilities, food to die for and outstanding service. My go to place to stay in Invercargill. I would not consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We love guests that return to Invercargill! Wonderful city, friendly people and that Hotel holds it's own in a pretty competitive environment! Thank you for staying and for using a number of our services.
Hope that we have the opportunity to look after you in the future!
Best Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently at the Ascot in Invercargill. I read a couple of reports as I always do and could not believe that some thought it was no better than a motel. This is a very well run hotel with loverly large rooms and a couple of dinning options with first class food. The hotel is always busy and handles multiple functions very well some thing they could teach some of the bigger hotels in Queens town. Give it a go you will be pleasantly .

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CCAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your response on Trip Advisor! Glad to see you enjoyed the Hotel and had a great stay. As you mentioned we are enjoying increased conference and Food and Beverage activity as the economy picks up. Long may it continue!
Hope to see you return to Invercargill in the near future.
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a fantastic place - was not expecting anything half as good when I booked this accommodation. Although even the booking service was great - I had some trouble with the online booking system & I sent an online inquiry & the response was very prompt.
The hotel was lovely, well maintained, quiet, warm and a lovely atmosphere. The room itself was equally as impressive - the ensuite in itself was bigger than some hotel rooms I have had. The beds were comfortable and everything in it was clean and modern.
I shall be recommending this hotel to anyone traveling to Invercargill and I think it might have just topped my list for hotels stayed in in NZ - in fact the only one that I think of that equaled this as far as room quality goes cost me three times as much as the room at the Ascot Park.
My only complaint would be maybe the reception staff could have been a bit more helpful - we were unaware that there was parking at the rear of the room and it meant that we had to carry our bags to our room ( I noted after that there was a luggage trolley and it would have been nice if the reception staff could have offered us the use of it) and then go back out into the rain and cold and move the car that we had already parked in another carpark. There was no friendliness or attempt to be helpful when I checked in which was not in keeping with the rest of my experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for this review and most helpful comments on our property.
It is an unexpected plus that most of the Hotel and all of the Motel rooms have car-parking either outside or close to their rooms.... not so good if we don't communicate that!
It is a true Autumn day here today, no wind, clear skies and a tad chilly.... great if you want tp go for a walk in Queens Park and see the Autumn colours!
I hope that we see you again in Invercargill!
Cheers
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Yet another welcoming and comfortable stay at the Ascot...
Everything I need - a home away from home.
Warm, modern, tidy room.
The best service I have ever recieved in a hotel. Resurant bound to make me fat someday :) cant get enough of the great menu, and impecible service.
Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineLG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascotpark080, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for this great review. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards
Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing