We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel - Good Food and Great Accommodation”
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel - Good Food and Great Accommodation”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

The Ascot is a very good Hotel. Set on the outskirts of the City of Invercargill, it boasts excellent parking, great food, a cozy bar and excellent accommodation.

I stayed in the newly completed wing of the hotel and the suite was not only immaculate but beautifully appointed. The rooms are air conditioned with generous bathrooms, bedrooms and an excellent seperate sitting room and kitchenette where you could easily entertain guests. The only very small disappointed was the shower pressure but I do have a preference for a strong, powerful shower.

The Hotel itself is very good. We hosted a conference and the food and beverages were excellent. The conference team were very good. Dinner was reasonably priced and delicious as was breakfast. I really cannot praise the Food and Beverage team more highly. The conference facilities were excellent.

The property boasts a full gym and generous indoor heated pool. You will need a rental car if you stay here as the centre of Invercargill is a good ten minute drive. Alternatively, there are taxis available. I would strongly recommend the property and believe that you will have a great stay here.

The only slight issue was the reception team who seemed perfuntory and disengaged. What a difference it would make to be greeted with a friendly smile and a real willingness to help. I was made to wait on several occassions throughout my stay and it was not obvious why.

Having said that, the other staff were superb. A great Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    148
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
126
20
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
904 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed in a motel unit for NZ$99. The room and kitchenette were roomy. There was free wifi in the lobby. Free parking was outside the room. The grounds were pretty. Staff was friendly and helpful.
(Free) Queens Park is worth a visit, especially the Aviary.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We were on a 19 day coach tour of NZ. Most of the hotels were fine but Ascot Park was outstanding. We were given a suite (maybe luck of the draw) at the regular rate - it was beautiful. The public areas were good, the bar - and bar food - were great (just as well as it's some distance from town).
And free wireless in the lobby - really unusual in NZ!

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
Thank Viking1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Very friendly as all New Zealand is. The hotel is clean and staff are helpful. New Zealanders love their country and where they live this clearly shows in how they run their business's and this is no exception.

Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeaverF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We were only here for one night, but we were very comfortable. Our room was large and very stylish with a very comfortable queen and a single bed, a desk and easy chair and footstool. It was nice too after a lot of travelling to have a bath as well as a shower. We used the restaurant at night and had an excellent meal. We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming, and the hotel itself was a nice easy drive from the centre of town making the rooms quiet, with no traffic noise. The buildings are set in pleasant gardens which is a nice change also. Some parts of the hotel are in the process of renovation, so not as many rooms are available at present. Although there was an event taking place in the main part of the hotel , the rooms are well away from the main hotel block so this doesn't impinge on you at all.We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return if we are in Invercargill again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2009

some had recommended this hotel to me but i felt it to be quite impersonal. its large which i suppose would be good for large groups and has good facilities for conferences etc but for myself and a couple of friends, we thought we might be better off somewhere a little bit more cosier with a slightly more personal touch

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallingintoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I stayed here for five nights and was more than pleasantly surprised with this hotel.

We were first given an older style room which was clean but definitely showed it's age.
Since we were staying for five nights, I wanted to be as comfortable as possible so asked if another was available.
We were then given a newly renovated room.
It had a queen bed, a single bed , a desk and chair, and a big comfortable chair and footstool.
Lovely room!!!!

This hotel is HUGE
LOTS of different types of accommodation from a self contained motel style, to hotel rooms.
And it seems to be continually booked out.
But, surprisingly, you don't feel over run with people.

The staff are exceptional!
Check in was fast, friendly and efficient.
The cleaning staff are great
And the girls in the bar/restaurant are SO nice!

Only things I could recommend is free internet and daily changes in the menu in the bar!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing