We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

The Balmoral was a little gem. The staff were great & our 2 bedroom apartment was huge. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aims79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Balmoral Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Enjoyed a great spa room for our wedding anniversary, clean tidy and warm, the cookie time biscuits are a nice touch. Spa bath is great, easily fits two people, unlike some other hotels we have stayed at. Good location, handy to town.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for the spa bath rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amwoodrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Balmoral Lodge is in a good position, just a few minutes by car into the centre of town, could walk, probably 15 minutes.
The motel is of a townhouse design, with the bedroom, upstairs. Bedroom, lounge room and bathroom are all of good size, clean and quiet. Comfortable bed. This configuration could be a problem for people with mobility issues.
The staff were really friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I were half-way through our 10-week visit to NZ.
We were impressed, first and foremost, by the greeting at Reception: friendly, professional, no-fuss, helpful with restaurant suggestions (a plus!) and any tourist queries. Lovely landscaped motel, on main road (with friendly resident cat!). The unit we were assigned to had a mezzanine where the beds were (1 queen, 1 single). Very comfortable beds and nice linens. Ample space on the main floor for all of our luggage, Kitchenette very well-equipped, bathroom also. Laudry room, bright with iron and board (as in unit), with free washer and coin-operated dryer as well as a clothesline nearby for guests's use. Parking outside front door.
The 2 nights we were there, there was a smell of what I can only think of was tar outside, but that's not the Motel's fault, it could be from something nearby, but we had to close all windows at night for that reason. The Motel is on a main road, so that could be the reason, a minor thing but it did affect the through breeze we usually like!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orleans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Hi There,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us (although it was a shame about the tar smell). We hope you enjoyed your trip around NZ and we would love to see you again if you come down this way in the future :o)
Kind Regards,

Anna
Receptionist
Balmoral Lodge Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have been staying at the Balmoral Lodge, fortnightly, now for many years. as someone who is on the road 48 weeks a year it is important to have a great place to stay at the end of the day The Balmoral and it's staff tick all the boxes! The hospitality is first rate with friendly helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. I would highly recommend them as comfortable and friendly place to stay for any business traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P111Dunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. We really appreciate the feedback and we strive to continue to be successful in providing great accommodation to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Hi There, I was browsing through your listings when I came across the Balmoral Lodge Motel. Your picture for this Motel shows a picture of The Balmoral Lodge which is in Queenstown (completely separate company) :o)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at the Balmoral Lodge Motel during the Rugby World Cup for one night. The location is absolutely perfect as it is only a five minute walk to the Stadium. We found the rooms a little dark but otherwise they were very adequate. Internet connect very good. Kitchen had all the basics. About a five minute walk to the nearest supermarket.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fusspot1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Motel

Address: 265 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: £65 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balmoral Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Invercargill
Balmoral Lodge Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing