We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business of Family Motel Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We always stay here while working in Invercargill, roomy units, desk in every room with good light, free wifi access that works well, full kitchen so you don't need to eat out - but fabulous cooked breakfast if you want to treat yourshelf.

Room Tip: All units are great, this place is always warm - underfloor bathroom heating a luxury as is having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is a comfortable and tidy motel. We were drawn in by the sign on the sidewalk saying free breakfast. On checking in the room tariff it was +$$s for breakfast so a bit dodgey on that front. The breakfast arrived on time and was great. One suggestion for the management is to make the curtains blackout style as the security lighting outside penetrated the current drapes.

Room Tip: No real advantage I would say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kostos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

So we had booked this room as part of a school trip to Invercargill.
We had a nice "upstairs downstairs" room. We were upstairs and our son downstairs.
Cosy place to stay bearing in mind this is mid July in the deep south!
We were pleasantly surprised that our room was serviced after the first of two nights, with fresh towels etc.
A friendly manager / owner and his wife deserve every success, and our sincere thanks to them.
Andrew & Val Jackson.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacko05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Having never been to Invercargill before, I left it to a local NZ staff member to make the choice of accommodation for me. There are no hotels as such in town, but a fair number of motels. I was pleasantly surprised by this warm and friendly motel. I stayed in a one bedroom loft style room with the bedroom upstairs and a lounge, eating area, kitchenette area, and bathroom downstairs. All room areas were a generous size and contained all the amenities that you would need. The furnishings and decor were a little dated and plain, but clean and more than adequate. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows could do with replacing as they were a bit flat.

The room was WELL heated. There is no chance of being cold in this room. The AC was easily adjustable to make it more comfortable. The bathroom had a heater, underfloor heating, and heated towel rails. This was a nice touch :-). The shower was hot and strong and there is wireless internet available free of charge. Contrary to what one of the other TA reviewers stated, the rooms are serviced daily.

The office staff were friendly and more than helpful. All in all, it was a very comfortable 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and it is always good to hear about some areas that we can make improvements on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were referred to this motel six years ago by a friend. Since our first stay the place has really grown on us. We visit Invercargill at least once a year and at times up to three times per year for business and would not even think of staying anywhere else.
Fantastic management and the spacious units are very well maintained. At times we have stayed here for up to three months and have always been sorry to leave.
Leon Korkie
South Africa

Room Tip: Book well in advance as the place is so popular that it is often fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have been staying at this motel on and off since 2007 and it is without a doubt the best accommodation for the price in Invercargill. The service is top notch, the staff very friendly and efficient. The rooms are very comfortable, and the laundry works very well. The motel is central to the main town, yet it is quiet enough for a peace full stay.
The manager and his wife are very helpful and is always on hand to sort out any problems.
I can safely recommend this motel to any visitor to Invercargill.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review - we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I booked to stay, as the rating for this place was high. It was advertised on the internet, and later I noticed it was also advertised in an AA catalogue on the Interislander, as having spa baths! The main reason to stay was the spa, as I had travelled straight from Auckland to Invercargill, with no stops on the way. I was disappointed to find out there were no spa baths, and I was not able to get accommodation anywhere else, as the Bluff Oyster Festival was due. Is this a case of false advertising? The sheets are only changed every five days, and the room I had was up a long flight of steps, with a noisy laundry underneath, where you could hear all conversation downstairs from the housemaids, who were loud. The bed was uncomfortable, and when booked the room was $125.00 a night, when leaving I paid $130.00. Found one of the owners to be rude, and pushy!

Room Tip: My bed was uncomfortable, the door was hard to open, so I would not take the room upstairs, maybe ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Motel

Address: 265 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: £59 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balmoral Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Invercargill
Balmoral Lodge Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing