We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy motel for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfy motel for a one night stay”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Spacious room for just one person (mezzanine style apartment). Very clean although some furnishings were a bit dated.
I had unit 12 with a spa bath which was a nice treat.
Good cooked breakfast as well and the bed was comfortable and the bedroom quiet.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Nicola,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the cooked breakfast.

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    54
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
42
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautifully appointed and spacious 2 bedroom unit with lots of little "extras" like heated towel rails and in-floor heating in the bathroom! The staff were very friendly and welcoming and it was just a short drive into town where we had dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Robyn,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations.

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Cant complain about the accommodation or service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff bend over backwards to help. The only problem ( and it is a big problem ) was the internet. It works fine for general browsing but as soon as I tried to upload photos to my own website or my Facebook page it just froze. This really meant that I was unable to do my work satisfactorily and unless it gets sorted I will not be in a hurry to go back.
Bruce

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiningForTheFijords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank-you for your feedback. Following extensive testing of the WiFi system at the Balmoral, our IT Specialist has discovered there was an intermittent hardware issue with the access point directly outside the unit you stayed in. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for alerting us to this issue as the nature of it meant it was difficult to trace, but we have now replaced the unit. We're also installing a monitoring system to alert us to any future issues of this type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my husband and our daughter.
We absolutely loved our overnight stay in this hotel.
The layout of the apartment was spacious and very enjoyable.
Hotel staff were a true delight to deal with.
By far one of the best stays on our NZ holiday to date.
Would happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mandy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Mandy,

It is so nice to hear about the wonderful stay you had with us. We hope you had a great time visiting NZ. Its always great to hear that we are doing a good job providing guests with the best possible service so you can relax and enjoy your time.

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family here for 1 night on our around the South Island trip. We were greeted by the manger herself and she was very pleasant and helpful.the rooms were clean and tidy, worth every dollar. Easy drive to bluff from here as well. The only 1 downside was the next door neighbors made a lot of noise and was hard to get proper sleep, not the motel owner fault. Could have been a 1 of thing.will stay here again if ever in invercargil again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Artikaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We spent 1 night here during a weekend trip to Invercargill. Good sized room, comfortable bed, what else could you ask for? On previous trips to Invercargill, we have stayed further out from the central part of the city. We were surprised at how quiet the room was, (except for the noisy extraction fan in bathroom) considering the motel was on a main road.

As we had a large list of things we wanted to do, we thought being closer to town would be much better. Close to restaurants, bars etc.

Staff were great. Would we stay there again? Yes, I think we would.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazilBrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here 1 night during a work trip (and my first visit to Invercargill). The staff here are friendly and welcoming and the stay was very comfortable. While the room was large with a comfortable bed, the styling was quite old and the bathroom in particular very 60's. The shower fittings in particular look to be from a bygone era, and the shower head itself was at the height of my shoulders (I'm tall....but not THAT tall).

Over all - a very comfortable and affordable stay, however the bathrooms could probably do with an update

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the review. It is great to hear all sorts of feedback about how you found the room. we will definitely take into consideration your thoughts on the room being a little dated and perhaps could do with a renovation in the future. its always helpful to hear what guests think.

We are pleased however that you did enjoy your stay.

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 33 in Invercargill
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Motel

Property: Balmoral Lodge Motel
Address: 265 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balmoral Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Invercargill
Balmoral Lodge Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing