We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoy our stays at Balmoral as receive great service and the units are always warm and spotless with plenty of space.Situated close to a supermarket and food outlets just a short stroll to either that's convenient. Having used this motel for over 10 years have never had a bad experience we can confidently recommend this motel If you are traveling book ahead as this motel is popular. Thanks Adam and JoAnne.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcleghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are very pleased to receive positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the new year.
Kind Regards,
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    53
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
39
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Balmoral Lodge Motel provided great service for our fairly large tour group, were very welcoming and a have very helpful and friendly team of staff.
The location suited us and the outdoor area was great for group gatherings

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi,

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We strive for excellent customer service and ensure that our guests have a warm welcome on arrival.
We are pleased you were able to enjoy the outdoor setting and hopefully the weather was nice.
Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked this motel through Fly Buys very easily on-line. There was a box to send any preferences or special notes - which we entered our preferences in. Sometimes you can be cast off with such things as second class guests when booking through Fly Buys, but we received a friendly answer confirming our choice of room.
I had brought a special pie to cook in the oven for the first night - and there was no oven. But, I could have checked that first.
No free WiFi, which I kind of expect these days, but very clear directions on how to get internet and it did not seem expensive.
The room was spacious - not brand new, but very well-maintained and most importantly clean. The bed was comfortable. Plenty of car-parking, We would be happy to stay there again

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms are two levels, but the one bedroom on the mezzanine made the lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juanita93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi Juanita,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would come back again.
We do strive to keep a high standard of presentation and cleanliness.
We hope to have you stay again some time in the future.

Thanks,

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Spacious room for just one person (mezzanine style apartment). Very clean although some furnishings were a bit dated.
I had unit 12 with a spa bath which was a nice treat.
Good cooked breakfast as well and the bed was comfortable and the bedroom quiet.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Nicola,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the cooked breakfast.

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Beautifully appointed and spacious 2 bedroom unit with lots of little "extras" like heated towel rails and in-floor heating in the bathroom! The staff were very friendly and welcoming and it was just a short drive into town where we had dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Robyn,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations.

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Cant complain about the accommodation or service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff bend over backwards to help. The only problem ( and it is a big problem ) was the internet. It works fine for general browsing but as soon as I tried to upload photos to my own website or my Facebook page it just froze. This really meant that I was unable to do my work satisfactorily and unless it gets sorted I will not be in a hurry to go back.
Bruce

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiningForTheFijords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank-you for your feedback. Following extensive testing of the WiFi system at the Balmoral, our IT Specialist has discovered there was an intermittent hardware issue with the access point directly outside the unit you stayed in. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for alerting us to this issue as the nature of it meant it was difficult to trace, but we have now replaced the unit. We're also installing a monitoring system to alert us to any future issues of this type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my husband and our daughter.
We absolutely loved our overnight stay in this hotel.
The layout of the apartment was spacious and very enjoyable.
Hotel staff were a true delight to deal with.
By far one of the best stays on our NZ holiday to date.
Would happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mandy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-anne H, Receptionist at Balmoral Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Mandy,

It is so nice to hear about the wonderful stay you had with us. We hope you had a great time visiting NZ. Its always great to hear that we are doing a good job providing guests with the best possible service so you can relax and enjoy your time.

Janine
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Motel

Property: Balmoral Lodge Motel
Address: 265 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#9 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balmoral Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Invercargill
Balmoral Lodge Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing