We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So friendly and obliging” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homestead Villa Motel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So friendly and obliging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived 2 hours earlier than our projected checkin with a screaming baby (she had had enough of sitting in her car seat and needed a wriggle badly and a sleep in a bed). The staff quickly sorted our room, heated a bottle for the baby and within 5 minutes of arriving super early we were sitting in our very clean and serviced motel room.
The room was spacious and comfortable and was just what we needed at the time. There was room service available from the restaurant across the road and other local restaurants delivered food also. Information was in the room to show you many of the things Invercargill had to offer. The motel was quite central - a 2 minute drive into the centre of the city.
We will definitely stay here again if we are in Invercargill again.
All the staff we spoke to were so friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    40
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
53
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The motel was very clean and very spacious. Staff were welcoming, particularly Debbie who was very obliging, helpful and welcoming. Eateries close and not far from town centre. Bit of a blip on New Year's Day when staff was a little late but New Year's Eve had to be got over! Overall we thought this a very good motel providing excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Units away from main road are a little quieter but it is not a major issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the unit with separate bedroom and lounge / kitchen area. The spa was great. Can't believe we had such a good deal. The girls were very helpful with our requests for wifi although the connections were not satisfactory. They promised to have that checked. The property is in a very convenient location. There are a number of eateries within walking distance. We had a lovely 2 day stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GohAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This motel is amazing. We had a two bedroom apartment and it was just like being at home. Everything was clean and in amazing condition. Big lounge room and bedrooms and separate bathroom and toilet. Initially we were only staying one night, but loved it so uck that we stayed four nights. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stay here every four weeks and always enjoy my stay here. Friendly and very welcoming staff make you feel very welcome. Rooms are very good. Very quiet too considering it's on the main road. Meals across the road from the restaurant/bar are great value too and even better they can be charged back to your room as with many I.L.T. establishments in town.
Make sure to book ahead so you're not disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here overnight and found the accommodation top-notch. The unit was warm, which was very nice on a cold night, clean, modern and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were informative about dining close to the motel. The breakfast provided was wonderful. I would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently as a Club group of parents and swimmers. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Free laundry was an added bonus, especially with swimmers having to dry gear every night. The staff were extremely friendly and went the extra mile to accommodate us. Parking was plentiful and location close to all city amenities. Very close to the beautiful Queens park and information centre. Great value for money. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Abroadswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Villa Motel

Property: Homestead Villa Motel
Address: Cnr Avenal and Dee Streets, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#10 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Homestead Villa Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homestead Villa Motel offers you premium accommodation and location, only minutes to Invercargill’s major recreation spots, sporting facilities and city centre. Only a block to our picturesque, feature packed Queens Park, golf course, museum and art gallery. Just 10 minutes stroll to the city centre. Short drive to Stadium Southland & the Velodrome, Splash Palace, Rugby Park, hospital and airport. Adjacent Cobb & Co restaurant and bar and within walking distance to many fine dining options. Spacious, comfortable rooms offering stylish, modern decor. Quality amenities with all the extras, including our special breakfast menu to tantalize your taste buds.Ideal for the business traveller at the hub of Invercargill’s commercial district, the leisure/family travellers for activities and sightseeing plus the convenience and facilities suitable for all sporting, recreation and performing tour groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homestead Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Villa Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing