We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed, roomy but dated decor”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The No.1 thing was right. A comfortable bed. Also a good sized room. Good location in the centre of Invercargill. Needs a facelift to rate higher. Served its purpose for a one night stay. We walked a couple hundred meters around the corner to the Speights Ale House for dinner.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Kelvin Hotel. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay. We are continually upgrading the Hotel facilities to ensure the Kelvin Hotel retains its 3 plus Qualmark rating. We trust we may be of service again in the future.
Kind Regards Bryan Townley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Old decor. Needs to updated. Very small room. We got one with two double beds and there was just enough room in between them. You wouldn't want the room for two couples. It's much better for two people. Beds were comfy. Excellent location. Right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

City Center hotel with clean and comfortable rooms with nice restaurant and bar, found all the staff friendly and most helpful, ideal base for trip to Bluff and Stewart lsland, a must, or just wonder around Invergargill a very quiet city and explore!

Room Tip: back rooms will be quieter if you are a very light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Kelvin Hotel did not look like much but inside it has an art deco feel and the most wonderful staff. For not much extra they upgraded us to a top floor suite with great views and a wonderful large very modern room with all amenities. In addition the restaurant made Pavlova for us despite it not being on the menu and when we forgot a small personal item they mailed it to our home!

Superb friendly service centrally located and a great room - what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: check on an upgrade to a suite - I think our was 30% over the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arrived early afternoon in Invercargill and went to the i-site to find accomodation. Reasonable rate which included breakfast for a double with en-suite.
Well situated in centre, valet parking and free wifi in lobby.
Evening meal and breakfast were very good in the restuarant.
Clean and tidy room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We decided to stay in Invercargill on the way East and picked the Kelvin Hotel at random.
Friendly and efficient check-in and the took care of parking our car after the bags were unloaded.
Four of us in two rooms. Both rooms were very, very small but had large bathrooms. In one case the cold tap in the bath did not work and strange black sand came out of the hot tap. (Solder residue from some plumbing?) In the other case the hot water was a funny colour.
A strange heating / cooling system in the room which blasted out hot air when set to cool.
No WiFi but an Ethernet Internet system at exorbitant rates. 20c a megabyte which means that an e-mail with a few photos would cost a couple of dollars and a Microsoft or Norton automatic
update could set you back $20 in the blink of an eye. Many hotels made the mistake ten years ago of running 10 base T cable to all rooms. A great idea at the time and unlucky that the world changed when WiFi, but no reason to try and recover the investment now from unsuspecting customers. We used an iPad with 3G on NZ Telecom set up as a Personal Hotspot instead so not a problem for us, but disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your review of the Kelvin Hotel, I understand your stay was in some of our smaller rooms which had been discounted, we do have a variety of rooms including 3 beautiful suites which provide plenty of extra space. I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of installing in room Wi Fi and plan to have this up in running in the very near future.
Kind Regards Bryan Townley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The Kelvin...Invercargill's iconic Post Modern Architecture era multi-storied hotel. A very good standard of service, valet parking and good food for what is a business hotel. A spotless room with a surprisingly good view of the city. Since it's in the heart of the city you have quite a few restaurant choices, for a small city of this size, within a ten minute walk. Has it's own restaurant and luck for me...It was Bluff Oyster season!!! So called 'South Land' sized servings really fill you. The people are really freindly, Queenstown is only an hour and a half's drive away. Aparently equipped with a spa and sauna, but I didn't have time to use it.

Room Tip: The higer up, the quieter it is, also try and get an eastward or south facing room, get a panoramic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our "classic" 1960 style Hotel. Although a lot of upgrading over the years has taken place the Hotel does possess real character.
We look forward to being of service again. Kind Regards Bryan Townley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Tayesta
Comfort Inn Tayesta
#17 of 33 in Invercargill
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Corner Kelvin & Esk Streets, | P.O. Box 1064, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelvin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing