We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for a night in June. Good location in the middle of Invercargill and typical 3 star hotel with good shower pressure and plenty of hot water. Beds are old but ok for a night.
The hotel is not bad value for money for accommodation however the price of restaurant food is very expensive. The prices are 5 star dining prices for a pub meal and are probably about 20% to 25% for than you would pay in any other city in New Zealand for comparable food.
Staff in the restaurant and hotel were super friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraterDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    74
    30
    18
    2
See reviews for
16
58
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

One night stay for a wedding we were attending. Stayed on top floor, lovely room, great spa, beautiful bathroom, clean and warm. Heaps of space. Friendly helpful staff, couldn't have asked for more :)

Room Tip: 6th floor I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The No.1 thing was right. A comfortable bed. Also a good sized room. Good location in the centre of Invercargill. Needs a facelift to rate higher. Served its purpose for a one night stay. We walked a couple hundred meters around the corner to the Speights Ale House for dinner.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Kelvin Hotel. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay. We are continually upgrading the Hotel facilities to ensure the Kelvin Hotel retains its 3 plus Qualmark rating. We trust we may be of service again in the future.
Kind Regards Bryan Townley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Old decor. Needs to updated. Very small room. We got one with two double beds and there was just enough room in between them. You wouldn't want the room for two couples. It's much better for two people. Beds were comfy. Excellent location. Right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

City Center hotel with clean and comfortable rooms with nice restaurant and bar, found all the staff friendly and most helpful, ideal base for trip to Bluff and Stewart lsland, a must, or just wonder around Invergargill a very quiet city and explore!

Room Tip: back rooms will be quieter if you are a very light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Kelvin Hotel did not look like much but inside it has an art deco feel and the most wonderful staff. For not much extra they upgraded us to a top floor suite with great views and a wonderful large very modern room with all amenities. In addition the restaurant made Pavlova for us despite it not being on the menu and when we forgot a small personal item they mailed it to our home!

Superb friendly service centrally located and a great room - what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: check on an upgrade to a suite - I think our was 30% over the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arrived early afternoon in Invercargill and went to the i-site to find accomodation. Reasonable rate which included breakfast for a double with en-suite.
Well situated in centre, valet parking and free wifi in lobby.
Evening meal and breakfast were very good in the restuarant.
Clean and tidy room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Invercargill
Ibis Styles Invercargill
#5 of 12 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Property: Kelvin Hotel
Address: Corner Kelvin & Esk Streets, | P.O. Box 1064, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelvin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing