We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice bp!”

Southern Comfort Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invercargill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Comfort Backpackers
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good Backpackers, friendly staff, good rooms, clean and big kitchen. Also beautiful garden to sit and have diner. Dishwasher was a plus, never had it on the rest of our trip in any other backpackers !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Veronique c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

This grand, old Victorian house is made even more special by Claudio, who has been managing the hostel for the last 10 months. It is very clean, roomy and -- for a hostel -- lavishly furnished. Claudio is friendly and knowledgeable as well as kind, patient and helpful. Southern Comfort is very centrally located, just a 5 minute walk from Queens Park and the Museum and i-Site. We stayed for 4 nights and would certainly stay again on another trip to Invercargill.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnyjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Bus dropped us off right outside the door, very handy. 15 min walk into town for supermarkets, not bad on a nice day. Kitchen was nice and clean, with space for a few people making dinner at the same time. Rooms were large, too, shame about the no bedding which we felt the notice of on a cold night. Owner seemed nice, only saw him once. Bit of a pain having to pay cash. We only stayed two nights though, so can't complain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our first room had a smelly guy in it so we asked for our own room and paid a little more for it. The new room was nice and cozy. The bathroom was small but got the job done. Kitchen was small but there weren't many people there so we got a chance to cook. Parking was on the street. All in all it was fine. Not many cheap options in Invercargill. Location wasn't great but we didn't do much in Invercargill so it's fine if you have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great place to stay for young and old. Comfortable lounge, VG kitchen and good beds. We were there in mid-winter and the heating was brilliant. Bathrooms VG as well. Conversation easy without blaring TV. Nights very quiet as away from major traffic. The manager, Oliver, was excellent...welcoming, efficient and nothing a problem.
Stayed 2 nights and couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Cosy private house in lush gardens, very quiet and clean. Well equipped kitchen. I stayed in 2 different double rooms & liked the slightly more expensive one better. It is bigger & inside the main building whilst the other one is located outside the backdoor and you need to have free hands to type in the door code. I also checked a dorm room and found that it was spacious, clean and looked quite inviting. A dish washing machine added to comfort;-)
I was really grateful that my excess luggage could be stored when I left for Stewart Island.

The only downside was the fact that they don't offer free Internet or at least some free MB. And it's Invercargill after all... A good gateway to Stewart Island but I didn't fancy the city at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed at this hostel for a couple of nights and I absolutely loved it. Everything about is was wonderful and exactly how you hope a hostel/backpackers will be. Cosy, clean, charming, inviting...and NOT a party hostel. Just perfect.
People seem to make it as far south as Queenstown or Dunedin at best, rather than venturing this far south. Really unfortunate...because this part of the country is so special. Beautiful wild scenery at its best. If you are looking for a special experience that goes beyond the main tourist path, this is it. And this hostel is a great option!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.8 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tayesta
Comfort Inn Tayesta
#19 of 33 in Invercargill
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Backpackers

Address: 30 Thomson Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored and cosy Victorian Villa with large verandah overlooking well tended gardens. Close to town centre, Queens Park Southland Museum and I-Site. Offering excellent location with secure homely comfort and friendly assistance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort Backpackers Hotel Invercargill
Southern Comfort Backpackers Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing