We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great spa, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birchwood Manor Motel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great room, great spa, great service”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Everything you need here - comprehensive kitchenette, flat panel TV, nice big bathroom and spa bath, very friendly and helpful welcome from our hosts Sue and David. Rates were good given the quality of the room - a $5 wifi Internet (50MB limit) was also thrown in for free.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your review.
It is so positive to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to Invercargill and in particular your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    37
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
65
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great clean tidy and spacious rooms. Brilliant location. 2 minutes away from probably the best fish and chips/seafood/oysters (Kings on Ythan St). Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your generous review.
We are you pleased you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Manor and the quality fish and chips from Kings Fishmarket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toowoomba
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked three rooms for three nights at this motel, Its in a good location on the outskirts of town with a shopping complex across the road. I commend the owners on how clean this property was but it is stuck in the 70's. The furnishings are clean but very dated. The kitchen facilites are limited, you could not cook a family evening meal but was fine for breakfast. We had a separate bedroom, the bed was reasonable. Bathroom with shower over bath and separate toilet. We had apartment 16? which was upstairs close to the road,at first I was concened but we could not hear traffic at all. For a one night stay this motel is acceptable,

Room Tip: if you don't climb stairs ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your response.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The property which was architecturally designed and opened in 1997 is, as you say comfortable and clean and quiet.
We are constantly upgrading and refurbishing for the enjoyment of our guests.
We do have units with full kitchens and ovens and many family groups enjoy the ability to be able to fully cater for themselves while enjoying their stay at Birchwood Manor.
Thank you for your positive comments and we would love to host you again on yur next visit to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed one night before heading for the Catlins. Room was spacious with LCD TV. Location is excellent as we could just cross the road to the supermarket. Owners provided information on nearby eateries and we rested well after long drive from Lake Manapouri. We received 2 hours of free wireless surfing and managed to upload pictures of our Doubtful Sound cruise onto Facebook.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Manager at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
Thank you for the time taken to review your stay and we appreciate your positive remarks.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to NZ and especially Invercargill and Birchwood Manor Motel. "Jumpalagi"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Only stopped for one night wish it had been longer just a quick trip to Invercargill. The owners are friendly and went out of their way to be helpful , great room with big bed and a spa bath great fun .Location near to centre and a supermarket across the road .The owner gave us complimentary drinks vouchers at a local restaurant will go again .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorw509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for your great review.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Birchwood Manor and by reading your other reviews you enjoyed your whole experience in Invercargill.We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great location and very friendly and helpful owners. My wife and I have stayed here before and we love the different units in which we've stayed - we felt very spoilt in the king sized bed. Very convenient to the centre of town and across the road from the supermarket. We had a great stay and we will be back I am sure. Thanks !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJVRO998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your very generous review of your stay at Birchwood Manor.
We look forward to your visits with us and hope to see you again before to long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We actually sayed here twice, the first time in a studio and the second time in a one bedroomed unit. Both times were great.
The location is convenient and close enough to the city even if you don't have a car. The supermarket across the road makes life very convenient.
The units are really generous on space and comfort. It was great to stay in a motel with comfortable arm chairs that rock AND swivel! The showers in both units were sensational.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you very much.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the lovely hot showers and comfort of Birchwood Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Manor Motel

Property: Birchwood Manor Motel
Address: 189 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#13 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central City Motel Apartment Accommodation Invercargill. 15 Spacious units with all facilities, some with spas. Central city location on Tay St close to all facilities incl sport & cultural venues. Southland hospitality on Southern Scenic route. Perfect for business travellers, family and holiday makers. With amenities such as high speed wireless internet, fully equipped kitchens in each motel unit, private balconies and much more - you're guaranteed a great stay here. Book online securely and enjoy the knowledge and expertise of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Manor Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing