We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Invercargill Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birchwood Manor Motel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Very clean and functional motel fairly close to the town centre. The large bedroom and living area made it feel more like a flat than so many of the tiny "box like" motels that seem to be sprouting up these days. Nice wee personal touches and the free paper went down well. Across the road from Countdown and just down the road from Burger King, and other food places.The owners were very helpful with maps and advice etc. Would go back in a shot!

Room Tip: Travelers would struggle to find a better value motel in Invercargill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you for your time do write this generous response.
We are pleased that you enjoyed Birchwood Manor and our spacious rooms.
Visitors do enjoy our spacious rooms and our close proximity to the CBD.
We are delighted to hear that you would be" back like a shot".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Again it paid to check Tripadvisor. Birchwood is what we call a motel or motor inn and the management do it well. Too often the carparking area is bare bitumen, here the well loved and tended garden(loved the tulips) was most welcome.
Great to have a hotplate, as well as microwave and the other appliances. Bed very comfortable and unit warm without necessity of artificial heating.
Well situated with large supermarket opposite

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EA1509TC1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

We appreciate your comments and thank you for the time to write this positive review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed Birchwood Manor, your room and the garden and surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

For work I stay in a fair amount of hotels, and I found Birchwood Manor to rate in the top 10. David and Sue very welcoming and assistanced with any querries I had and offer a very friendly helpful service.

My first impresion of the room was very imaculate and tidy and also very spacious. Breakfast was served on a very punctual and hygenic mannor.

All in all I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed in 15. I can't comment on any of ther other rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you for your very positive review
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Manor and found our place a comfortable place to work from and also found the environment relaxing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights whilst our son played water polo in the Nationals at the nearby Splash Palace. We were in a lovely suite complete with spa bath which was a special treat. The kitchen facilities were perfect for our needs. The location is great - near the main part of town and opposite a big supermarket - but it is really Sue and David that make Birchwood Manor special - they are kind and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Overall this is a great place to stay when visiting Invercargill - definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGWAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for the time taken to do a review for us.Your generous praise is appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Birchwood Motel was booked for me by work so I was quite happy to see the very good rating it had earned on Tripadvisor. I arrived later in the day and checking in was quite painless and quick. The greeting was friendly and time was spent showing me different places to go for dinner.

I stayed in room 15 which was a second floor room. I was surprised when I initially opened the door to find a lounge, kitchenette with kitchen table, and a separate bedroom - a lot of space. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. There were hot water radiators in the bathroom and in the living room which kept the rooms reasonably warm (there was also an electric heater and electric blanket in the bedroom). My one suggestion would be to replace the carpet as it was starting to show some decent wear (also would have liked to see an internal security latch on the door).

I slept reasonably well on the bed and although the pillows were a bit soft for me, I was able to double them up to make it more comfortable. The shower had good pressure and there were no fluctuations in the water temperature (no one likes to get frozen and burned as the neighbours wake-up). I had ordered a cooked breakfast and a newspaper when I checked in the night before. Breakfast arrived on time and was good.

Check-out was easy and quick. Although I only stayed for on night, I could see using Birchwood motel for multiple nights - a home away from home.

Room Tip: There is a supermarket directly across the street from the motel. Invercargill does not allow superm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here..we enjoyed having you.
You will be pleased to hear that our re carpeting program is starting this week and the first room to be done is the room you stayed in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Everything you need here - comprehensive kitchenette, flat panel TV, nice big bathroom and spa bath, very friendly and helpful welcome from our hosts Sue and David. Rates were good given the quality of the room - a $5 wifi Internet (50MB limit) was also thrown in for free.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for your review.
It is so positive to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to Invercargill and in particular your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great clean tidy and spacious rooms. Brilliant location. 2 minutes away from probably the best fish and chips/seafood/oysters (Kings on Ythan St). Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your generous review.
We are you pleased you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Manor and the quality fish and chips from Kings Fishmarket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Manor Motel

Address: 189 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#13 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: £61 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central City Motel Apartment Accommodation Invercargill. 15 Spacious units with all facilities, some with spas. Central city location on Tay St close to all facilities incl sport & cultural venues. Southland hospitality on Southern Scenic route. Perfect for business travellers, family and holiday makers. With amenities such as high speed wireless internet, fully equipped kitchens in each motel unit, private balconies and much more - you're guaranteed a great stay here. Book online securely and enjoy the knowledge and expertise of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Manor Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing