We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,comfortable and close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birchwood Manor Motel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hosts, David and Sue, are excellent - very friendly and welcoming. They anticipated my every need and gave good advice on local attractions and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and quiet with a suprisingly large lounge. The kitchenette had everything I needed. This accomodation is a short walk from SIT and downtown shops. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for individuals or families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

We appreciate your review and glad to hear that you got your charger back.
We look forward to your next visit to Birchwood Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed for two nights while at a Conference. Nice and friendly staff, beautiful rooms, spa bath too! Central location made everything easy.

I forgot my phone charger and ti was immediately sent to me!

Room Tip: Ask the owners, they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksenija n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for your great review after staying at our hotel.
It was so great to see you come again a few days later with your friends.
It was a real bonus for us to see you again
Thanks for taking the time to put in a review which we appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here twice in one week while travelling the South Island, both stays were great. The first time on our own and then we took another 5 people back with us. Both times we had a studio room with a kingsized bed 2 rockers and the best television reception we had while on our travels. The owners David and Sue and extremely nice people and can't do enough for you. The rooms are very spacious, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The motel is situated right in town, with a Countdown supermarket across the road. The rooms are equipped with a kitchenette with everything you need to cook for yourself if you feel the need. The information booklet in each room covers just about every eatery in town I think and we had dinner at one of these places and booked it to our room at the motel which was very convenient. They do a continental breakfast as well as a delicous home cooked brekky which we had. I highly recommend this motel and would definately stay here again. If you are staying in Invercargill give it a try you won't be disappointed I promise you.

Room Tip: The Studio rooms have Kingsized beds and 2 rocker chairs and the 1 bedroom rooms have queensized bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

It was great to see you return for a second visit and to bring the rest of your group with you.
We are delighted that you enjoyed both your visits to Birchwood Manor and appreciate the photos you published with your review.
We appreciate your effort to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Birchwood for 2 nights in a studio room. Wow, did we choose right. Large King Bed. 2 Rockers. The room was large, felt very homely. The hosts were helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. When in Invercargill, please stay at the Birchwood and you will have a good stay. The room rates are very reasonable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your very high recommendation.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the large bed and your room and thank you for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have stayed in many motels over the years in Invercargill and have found this motel to be the best. The price is very competitive, the breakfast is excellent, the Motel is very clean, comfortable, warm and close to all amenities and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for making time to give us a very positive review.We appreciate your comments and will pass this on to our excellent staff..We pride ourselves,as they do, in how we present our rooms to our guests,It is our pleasure to host you on your visits to Invercargill and we really value repeat guests.
Thank you from Birchwood Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Embarassed to say it's taken nearly a year to write this review - however I'm still amazed at how welcoming & helpful David & Sue were to us last year when we stayed for a week while attending Junior World Track Cycling Champs. A lovely, comfortable apartment with everything we needed. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank dmicscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are very happy that you have remembered us a year out from your stay with us.
Thank you for your positive memories of Birchwood Manor and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again at Birchwood Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

After staying in a couple of other places in Invercargill we decided to try Birchwood Manor - no need to try anywhere else again! We were impressed with how clean everything was, the rooms are bright and cheery - so too were the staff! Birchwood Manor Invercargill is now our home away from home. Thanks & see you again soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yallambee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood-Manor, Owner at Birchwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Invercargill and in particular your stay with us at Birchwood Manor Motel and have now decided to make this your pace to stay when in Invercargill. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
328 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Manor Motel

Address: 189 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#8 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#13 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central City Motel Apartment Accommodation Invercargill. 15 Spacious units with all facilities, some with spas. Central city location on Tay St close to all facilities incl sport & cultural venues. Southland hospitality on Southern Scenic route. Perfect for business travellers, family and holiday makers. With amenities such as high speed wireless internet, fully equipped kitchens in each motel unit, private balconies and much more - you're guaranteed a great stay here. Book online securely and enjoy the knowledge and expertise of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birchwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Manor Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing