We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy little backpackers spot”
Review of Tuatara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuatara Lodge
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tidy little backpackers spot”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

In making my way from Bluff to Lake Te Anau, I stayed overnight in Invercargill at this back packers because the bus I was taking picked up right in front. I stayed in an ensuite and it was quite clean, if a bit spare. It has the very basics but those will do!

As others have mentioned, it is older and it shows, but it is very clean. The wifi signal was strong and I was on an upper floor, near the back of the building. Showers and bathroom were good, room to room noise wasn't bad either. Location is great- lots of shops and places to eat if you want to pass the time. I had great dinner out in the neighborhood and the breakfast at the little organic cafe in the lodge is very tasty and reasonably priced. Staff is nice, and it's a good deal for the money. For all that, it does feel like a bit of a ghost town, but I think that's because Invercargill is not a high traffic place :)

Overall I'd say it's not fancy and it's not exactly homey either, but it's charming in its way and the people are really nice, so it's a good option for a night or two... a great option if you're on a serious budget.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank xstala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
3
23
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hostel is easy to find (look for the giant tuatara painted on the building) and has about 6 free car parking spots round the back of the building (first come, first served.) I stayed in a female dorm in Room 25 which has 3 bunk beds in a smallish room. Room 25 is right next to the TV room, and as the walls are not soundproofed, you could hear the TV like it was in our room. On my first night there, someone was having a movie-marathon, and was still going at 1am. There weren't any notices in the TV room asking people to keep the noise down after a certain time, so try and avoid room 25 if you want to sleep. The kitchen is nice and big. Bathroom facilities are limited - only one womens toilet and shower on the second floor, but there's also a unisex shower/toilet room. I never had to wait for a shower room to be free. The cafe/bar downstairs is pretty good - and open early if you want to have an early breakfast. Cost was comparible with other hostels (around $30 for a dorm room) this includes linen, but not a towel. Invercargil doesn't offer too much to do in the evenings - but there's a movie theatre.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the main street would be quieter, avoid room 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our party of 7 stayed 1 night in Tuatara Lodge. It's within the centre of Invercargill. In comparison to the other lodges I've stayed, this was big. The thing about big lodges/backpackers is that it is not as cosy as the smaller ones. Nonetheless it was a well maintained & equipped & a cool lodge with a bar, good reception good interior design & lounge & there seem to be CCTVs everywhere in this lodge which is good for security. The lift was small & old though & had jerking movement upon reaching its destination. Good experience. :) My parents & I stayed in the Family Room while my aunt & uncle stayed in the double rooms & the 2 girls stayed in the Girls' dorm. The family room consisted of 2 bunks: double bed + single top bunk & 2 singles bunk & faced the streets. Fits 5 persons.Our rooms were clean & every room door had a cool Tuatara design pasted on. Kitchen & dining room was big but not as clean & tidy as some of the other Kiwi lodges/backpackers we've been to. Reception was closed at night. No free internet unlike in Malaysia. Sleep was quite hard as it was a Saturday night & the drunken folks outside in the streets were shouting & laughing out loud. Recommendation: It would be good to have night reception & to soundproof rooms facing the street to improve sleep quality. That said, I would definitely recommend any visitors heading to Invercargill to stay in Tuatara Lodge. It is centrally located. I'm looking forward to come again in the near future!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms NOT facing the street as it can be really loud on Fridays & Saturdays (night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Easy to find on Invercargill's main road (Dee Street) and was very easy to book a room. The room is clean and tidy and definitely lives up to the expectations for the price. Doesn't have an ensuite, but I haven't found this to be a big deal. The staff are extremely friendly and are more than capable of suggesting places to eat and other various things to do around the city. All in all , a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Invercargill - what can I say! You truly are special... Receptionist was great, but the hostel is a little old and tired. Roomates nice, and seemed a common trend for everyone in the hostel to go to the cinema as there wasn't anything else to do in the city! Very quiet and had an empty kitchen to cook in, which made a change from other hostels! Weird nurse downstairs in the stairwell with a skin clinic/lamp thing... um... Nice cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyhellothere2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayenne, French Guiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This Hostel with free Car Park is situated in the Town center of Invercargill, shops and Bars are only mins walk away. The managers and the Staff are so Friendly and Welcoming you cannot leave the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FG97355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Big communal kitchen, good relaxed vibe and clean room/showers : what else can one ask ? Internet ! And that is also provided at a very good rate (10 dollars for 24 hours ).

In short, a very good value (70 dollars for 2 ppl) for backpackers willing to chill a bit before the next outdoor adventure !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
The Grand Invercargill
The Grand Invercargill
#9 of 12 in Invercargill
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuatara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuatara Lodge

Property: Tuatara Lodge
Address: 30 - 32 Dee Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuatara lodge has recently undertaken new ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tuatara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuatara Lodge Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing