We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable backpacker accommodation & great cafe!”
Review of Tuatara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuatara Lodge
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed at Tuatara for a couple of nights in both a dorm room and double en-suite. The rooms are spacious (they have resisted the urge to squeeze as many bunk beds as possible into a space) and comfortable and warmer than your average backpackers. The cooking and chill out areas are also large and the laundry clean. Two things stood out during my stay however 1) the really excellent coffee (they have an award winning barista behind the counter) and food in the cafe (try the scrambled eggs for breakfast) and 2) FREE WIFI, simply unheard of in NZ! Thank you Tuatara team! On a side note Invercargill is under-rated: see a real Tuatara at the museum and go out on the town to some of the excellent bars (although you wouldn't know it from the outside), the Tuatara team will tell you what bars have offers on that night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place was a very central backpackers, really nice cafe downstairs which did amazing food. The hostel itself was clean and tidy, if a little on the old-fashioned side. I liked the kitchen area which was well equipped and had plenty of little tables to sit at and eat. There is a mini TV room which is nice. The rooms weren't the best, quite small and cramped, and the bunks were wobbly and creaky. Bathroom was average, alright shower. The lift is ancient, be careful!
FREE WIFI which is brilliant. The place is brilliantly located right in the centre of town, right next to Speight's Ale House.
One think I noticed which I didn't really like was there were loads of rude and condescending notices around the place advising how and how not to use things. Staff, sort it out and have a bit of decency: although we are backpackers we are still human paying customers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ep2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Rooms were decent, metal bunk beds weren't sloppy and wobbly. Bathrooms are in need of a major overhaul. Free WiFi, albeit slow. Discount at the cafe in the lobby which serves a excellent breakfast. Great location

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very happy with my room in this backpacker hostel; clean and tidy; front office staff were friendly and the cafe was fine (good coffee and a variety of snacks/meals on sale - and guests get a discount). A visiting group of school kids made for a noisy night until midnight but I guess that can happen anywhere. I had a ground floor room with ensuite, spacious but no window (not that I was worried because it would have only given me a view of an alleyway!) No soap provided, which caught me by surprise but overall value for money in the heart of sleepy Invercargill. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here one night after a tramping trip. The rooms were basic and run down, some had TV's & other didn't but the same price. Very noisy, especially if your room is near the lifts- we had a large group of young tennis players who ran around all night & started again at 6 am!
The cafe was OK but they burnt our pancakes at breakfast. The office wouldn't look after our luggage after checkout until our flight, made us use a pay locker; but there were others they seemed to oblige, including a bus load of younf=g backpackers whose bus didn't leave until 11 am.
Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for one with a TV if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Tuatara Lodge is on the Main Street, across from the cinemas. The entrance/reception area is appealing as this is the home of a relatively good cafe, however the rooms are old, outdated and shabby. We had a double room that had no window and very old decor and amenities.

There is free wifi. We wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natnblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

we were there during Christmas/New year holiday so the whole town was totally empty, but there're so many ppl hanging out at this place (since they also have a cafe and internet spot) which is a good thing. we got the double room (one with a tv, the other without) which is quite big and have a high ceiling and is very cozy. the place is easy enough to be found since it's located on the main street.

all the staffs are very friendly, but unhelpful. we once asked for their suggestions about the rental car and they told us to find it in a yellow pages ourselves! it seems like they know nothing about the area, if not, they're just being unhelpful. :-(

Room Tip: both of the double rooms are cozy and sunny, and sometime can be VERY HOT in there during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderer904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.3 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
410 reviews
3.3 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tayesta
Comfort Inn Tayesta
#18 of 33 in Invercargill
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuatara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuatara Lodge

Address: 30 - 32 Dee Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Invercargill
Price Range: £31 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuatara lodge has recently undertaken new ownership ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tuatara Lodge Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing