We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Place to Stay!”
Review of Tower Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tower Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Wonderful Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Even after reading all the favorable reviews on TripAdvisor, we were still surprised by how nice this motel is and by how friendly and helpful Dawn was. It is hard to believe that a motel this old could be so clean and so well appointed and decorated. It has lots of extras you wouldn't expect. Before she even checked us in, Dawn had found out where we had been and where we planned to go and gave us some great advice on things to do. We would recommend this motel without reservation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TS561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    59
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
160
19
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This motel is amazing value and the proprietors are a wealth of knowledge about the local area. We didn't expect much from accommodation in Invercargill but we sure were pleasantly surprised when we arrived here and were shown to our room. Like other reviews have attested, this hotel has been recently refurbished and it is a hidden treasure with its new carpet and good quality fittings. WiFi is free here which again ads to the overall value of this establishment. The bed that we had in our room was a king bed with a comfortable mattress and good pillows, we had a very good night sleep here. We went with the proprietors recommendation the following day and visited the museum to see the 160yo Lizard (Harry), this was well worth the trip as he is very unique.

Overall we would recommend the Tower Lodge as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 174MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Ray & Dawn, the awesome owner operators and the fabulous team of staff, housemaids relieving receptionists, were all like family we knew them so well. It did not matter which unit we would end up in, although being such regulars, we had main regular units. The beds are so comfortable, the kitchen and lounge facilities just like home. And so spotlessly clean. Nothing was a problem. Courtesy car always available. Which means a lot when at times staying for 2 or 3 nights. Such a short walk to the beautiful Queens Gardens, and everything else for that matter. No vehicle is too big spacious parking for all. Miss you guys.

Room Tip: Rooms to sort single person, double, four and families. You will not be disappointed. And its so pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerLodge, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks Miriam and Peter, it was always a pleasure to have you stay and we miss your regular visits. It is lovely when you have guests who become your friends and we are fortunate to have had the opportunity to make lovely friends all around the world.
Thankyou for placing feedback on your stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were recommended to stay at the Tower Lodge Motel and upon arrival the owners were very friendly. Nothing wa a problem - advising us of a great place to eat (the Saucy Chef) and giving us vouchers for a free drink. The quality and the quietness of the motel made our stay much better. The room was big enough for both of us to spread and not trip over one another. The cooking facilities and inclusions were great and the bathroom excellent. The pillows and the bedding were first rate. A special thanks to the owners who acted as our Information Centre - telling us about the "World's Fastest Indian", Bluff and Queens Park, where the botanical gardens.are located.
Would recommend it as a nice clean convenient place to stay that doesn't cost the earth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDF237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerLodge, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks Miriam and Peter, it was always a pleasure to have you stay and we miss your regular visits. It is lovely when you have guests who become your friends and we are fortunate to have had the opportunity to make lovely friends all around the world.
Thankyou for placing feedback on your stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The motel was in a great location close to Queen's park. The room was nice, comfortable, and clean. The owners were friendly and helpful. King sized bed was comfy, but in a small room. Convenient kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerLodge, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Queens Park is located in the centre of the city and is a must for all visitors as it has amazing walkways, animals, birds and beautiful gardens. We are lucky to be so close to the Park and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thankyou for taking the time to place feedback on your stay. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Workwise I stay regularly in a number of motels throughout New Zealand and in my experience the Tower Lodge is hard to beat. Nice and quite units close to Queens Park and town centre. The owners radiate true Southern hospitality and are very helpful: 'nothing is a problem'.
Would recommend it to fellow business travellers anytime.
Wybe K

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wybe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerLodge, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We enjoy having you to stay and are lucky that your work brings you South on a regular basis as we have the privilege of having you stay at Tower Lodge. Thankyou for taking time in your busy day to place feedback, it is really appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlingford, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We found the Tower Lodge Motel by chance and were surprised at the quality and the quietness made the stay so much better. The room was big enough for both of us to spread out a bit and not trip over one another. The inclusions were great and the bathroom excellent. The pillows wonderful and the bed was first rate. Special thanks to the owners who went out of their way to tell us about the Hayes/Hammer Hardware store where Burt Munro's "World's Fastest Indian" is on display plus other local attractions like Bluff. Their local knowledge of places to eat and other things was a great help. Thanks folks!

Room Tip: Check the pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerLodge, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We believe having a good pillow can affect the quality of your sleep and for that reason we try to have a selection to accommodate all guests.
Thankyou for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birchwood Manor Motel
Birchwood Manor Motel
#14 of 33 in Invercargill
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge Motel

Property: Tower Lodge Motel
Address: 119 Queens Drive, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tower Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Emily offer true Southern Hospitality in comfortable surroundings at the Tower Lodge Motel, Invercargill. Centrally located and just a few minutes walk from everywhere, including the city centre, Queens Gardens, golf courses, swimming pool, sports facilities and the home of Southland rugby - Homestead Stadium. Honeymoon Suite, units with private courtyard, spa bath units and wheelchair access. Studio units (sleep 2), 1-bedroom units (sleep 4), 2-bedroom units (sleep 5). Cots and highchairs available. DVD & flat-screen TV in most units. Courtesy vehicle by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tower Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing