We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and quiet - no complaints.”
Review of Tower Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tower Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and quiet - no complaints.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had to stay here because my other motel was full - but I am pleased this is where I ended up. The office staff were really nice and helpful. I got lost due to road works and they worked out where I was (I am not good with directions and had been driving around trying to get around lots and lots and lots of road works in Invercargill) and told me how to get to the motel and to drive through the road blocks. The parking was limited to just the motel, which is good The room was basic but had all I needed and was clean and quiet. The man in the office told me where I could go for a meal or takeout - I chose the takeout option and it was the best Chinese food I have eaten and I have been to Asia. Friendly and helpful - this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I took the room furtherest from the entrance. The back gate gets locked so my thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    61
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
163
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Finding a nice place to stay in Invercargill in my experience is not easy. This place is impeccable if you like motels. Guess I'm more of a hotel person.

To me - very average in my experience.

Pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We received a warm welcome and given some great ideas on what to do locally. We came to Invercargill to see the fastest indian and appreciated the heads up on other attractions. The room was lovely, comfortable and spacious. Lots of nice touches. Ray & Dawn are helpful and recommended some great places to eat. Would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyannegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Came to Invercargill to give a lecture, and they put me up at the Tower Lodge. Wow.
First of all, the room was Like New -- spotless and flawless, and beautifully appointed. A whole stove and oven, every single possible cooking thing (plunger, pots and pans, corkscrew), three couches and a nice tv, spa bath, and all spacious. But also it had none of those irritating motel things. For example, there was good quality lighting, including a reading light over the bed. For example, there was a place to put your toilet bag in the bathroom. Service was friendly, they give you real milk instead of nasty little packets of whatever-that-stuff is, and it's very sustainable, with proper recycling, optional towel wash, and soap dispensers instead of wasteful packets. Someone with intelligence and imagination planned this motel, so it is comfortable and useable. Plus it's away from the road and very quiet. Right across the street from a big park, so good to bring children to, I would think.

Room Tip: The units at the end, numbers 12-14 are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband & I were fortunate enough to stay at this wonderful motel for 2 nights recently,no wonder this motel gets such great ratings.Both Ray & Dawn are so welcoming & we even were upgraded to a spa room.Ray recommended a great restaurant for dinner which was only a very short walk from the Motel,the room was very well furnished,very clean & very comfortable.
Ray & Dawn's local knowledge ensured we saw lots of interesting things & places we probably would have missed.
Well done to both of you & thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALASKAHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerLodge, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thankyou for your feedback. There is plenty to see and enjoy in Invercargill and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Our team works hard to maintain a high standard of accommodation and are always pleased to hear of feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This motel gets excellent ratings and it is easy to see why. We stayed in March 2014 in a one bedroom unit for one night, but would happily have stayed here longer. Ray on the front desk was welcoming and informative. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi too, which is always welcome. If you are looking to stay in Invercargill, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandemtravelrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Great choice of units, excellent and friendly staff. This motel is in a good location and is well priced. the units are well furnished and have all of the facilities to make you stay fairly self sufficient. Spent three nights their and certainly will look to stay their again when in Invercargill.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SmokeyRH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#16 of 33 in Invercargill
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Victoria Railway Hotel
Victoria Railway Hotel
#1 of 15 in Invercargill
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge Motel

Property: Tower Lodge Motel
Address: 119 Queens Drive, Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#1 Family Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#2 Best Value Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tower Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Emily offer true Southern Hospitality in comfortable surroundings at the Tower Lodge Motel, Invercargill. Centrally located and just a few minutes walk from everywhere, including the city centre, Queens Gardens, golf courses, swimming pool, sports facilities and the home of Southland rugby - Homestead Stadium. Honeymoon Suite, units with private courtyard, spa bath units and wheelchair access. Studio units (sleep 2), 1-bedroom units (sleep 4), 2-bedroom units (sleep 5). Cots and highchairs available. DVD & flat-screen TV in most units. Courtesy vehicle by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tower Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge Motel Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing