We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!”

The Saucy Chef on St Andrew
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

How can you fault this place it was such a good experience from walking in being greeted by the friendly staff to walking out and paying for our meal! The food was so good the menu had a real variety of choices including game food eg Hare and duck which we had and was amazing! The service was so quick and efficient even with a fully loaded restaurant we were in and out within 1.5hrs!


You must give this a go!

Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    90
    33
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Invercargill!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really friendly staff, great service and simply AWESOME food. Our meals always come out quickly, the steak is cooked to perfection, the salad is always freshly made on the day and the side of veges can't be beaten by any restaurant in Invercargill for variety, taste and freshness. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level Contributor
165 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Family occasion with 10 plus adults and children. Service ok without being exceptional. Range of menu items ordered. Generally satisfied with presentation and quality of food. Portion sizes just adequate. Probably too many menu items but they certainly offer a choice including some interesting wild food options. Timing of courses quite good. Prices slightly on high side. Decor pleasant. Later in evening (9pm) groups arrived who clearly well inebriated but management obviously accepted that as ok. And no they weren't young people, at least 60 plus. Time to leave.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElvisInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice meal, excellent service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We popped in for lunch before returning home from a business trip.
All of the staff were polite, well trained, attentive without being overbearing, and professional. They are a real credit to the restaurant.
I had seafood chowder and my colleague had duck salad. Both were very nice, although the serving of chowder was large and I could not finish it.
Both of us had the chocolate chili pie, it was exactly as stated - a definite kick at the end.
Overall a good meal, but it was made by the service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My mother was visiting from the UK and we wanted to take her somewhere to show her real New Zealand cuisine so we went to the Saucy Chef after being highly recommended by friends of ours. We were greated by a very friendly smiling girl who we presunmed to be the manager at the time and taken to a table by a window which was lovely. The decor of the restaurant is very nice and modern and the restrautant was lovely and warm. We had the hare and the sizzler steak, both of which were cooked to perfection and delicious. My mother had the blue cod and loved every mouthful. We shared two desserts between the three of us, the creme brluee and the chocolate chilli pie which was well good. The service was top notch and the atmosphere relaxed and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank adidas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saucy Chef on St Andrew also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Saucy Chef on St Andrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing