We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Indian cuisine in town!”
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #15 of 100 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: NZ wide chain.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best Indian cuisine in town!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

First visited this excellent curry house when it had just opened in 2012. Visiting Invercargill again a year on and food, service and venue excellent and very accommodating. All visitors and locals should visit for the best Indian cuisine in town - sure to go back for repeat visits. Try it and see for yourselves - you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverley1962642254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
201 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit so was interested to see what it was like. Surroundings were very good as were the staff.

Those with us who are more regular visitors commented that it was as good as usual.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We went there on a Tuesday evening in March and there were only 3 other tables occupied. We were seated "upstairs" where we could still look out onto the street and see the other diners as well. The staff were most attentive and friendly. Out waitress spent quite some time explaining different parts of the menu to us and making different recommendations for both the food and the alcohol. We had the banquet meal which was excellent value for $35 a head - the entree platter was most tasty and if anything maybe a little bit too big. The naan bread that came with the mains was possibly the best I have ever tasted. The decor is most pleasant and elegant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandJInv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean n tasty...”
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

as it usually gets quite cold i decided to get something hot n spicy for dinner...since i had thai food the previous day so it had to be indian today...the place looks very stylish and clean from the outside and its the same story inside...food was really nice n their customer service was excellent..highly recommended...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ishy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot stuff”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is always an always reliable chain of Indian restaurants found in a number of cities around New Zealand; staff are courteous, food always tasty, freshly prepared and great value for money. The Invercargill outlet is spacious, clean and close to the city centre.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing