We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and food beautiful clean restaurant”
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #16 of 101 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: NZ wide chain.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service and food beautiful clean restaurant”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our first time having Indian other than in a shopping mall. So impressed with service excellent food was amazing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmkemilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    34
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Indian would not be my first choice for a meal but there were over 20 of us and the only place that would accommodate us at short notice. Butter chicken is always reliable for those of us with a sensitive palate and was not disappointing...the feedback from the other diners was very complimentary with the Lamb Saagwala proving very tasty and popular....I think I will have to be more adventurous next time. The garlic naan was yum and the beautiful dishes were passed up and down the table. I thought the mains seemed to be a bit dear but the portion sizes were larger than I have accounted in other restaurants with plenty of substance to them rather than a few pieces of meat floating in sauce.
Service was fabulous since there were so many of us of all ages.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best Indian cuisine in town!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

First visited this excellent curry house when it had just opened in 2012. Visiting Invercargill again a year on and food, service and venue excellent and very accommodating. All visitors and locals should visit for the best Indian cuisine in town - sure to go back for repeat visits. Try it and see for yourselves - you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverley1962642254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit so was interested to see what it was like. Surroundings were very good as were the staff.

Those with us who are more regular visitors commented that it was as good as usual.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We went there on a Tuesday evening in March and there were only 3 other tables occupied. We were seated "upstairs" where we could still look out onto the street and see the other diners as well. The staff were most attentive and friendly. Out waitress spent quite some time explaining different parts of the menu to us and making different recommendations for both the food and the alcohol. We had the banquet meal which was excellent value for $35 a head - the entree platter was most tasty and if anything maybe a little bit too big. The naan bread that came with the mains was possibly the best I have ever tasted. The decor is most pleasant and elegant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandJInv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing