We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent indian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #16 of 98 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: NZ wide chain.
Boom, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The food was great!
The staff was very polite and helpfull.
The interior wasn't like normal indian restaurant but had a modern feel. Still there was some indian music playing.
Nothing bad to say, we are going back in Dunedin!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneliesvds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    34
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food is fantastic but service leaves a lot to be desired!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We come back time and time again because the food is great, however the service really lets this place down. They haven't had a working coffee machine since we started going back in August 2012. Every time we go we ask for coffee but get the same response that the coffee machine is broken! Come on guys just think of all the lost profit you are missing out on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yonnamalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invargcargill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Thre was nothing wrong as such but I 've definitely he'd better the wiew lovely service and price ok food was ok'that's all

Helpful?
Thank Jiggs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We tried Indian in several places during our trip in NZ and found Little India to be the best. The decor of the restaurant is modern and pleasant, service quite good. We ordered Tikka Masala and Bombay Fish with naan and roti. Everything was perfectly seasoned and the breads fresh.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We ordered takeaway last weds and were not disappointed. The lamb kadai was really delicious. We also had chicken jhalfreeze which went down a treat with our toddler. We ordered medium, our toddler happily can eat that level of spice so it is definitely a kiwi type medium. They have plenty of options to cater for spice level though. Our tandoori chicken entree was cooked perfectly. I was a little disappointed in my cheese and garlic naan, it was a little more rubbery than I like, maybe needed a touch longer on the tandoor. We will definitely order from here again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_C368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing