We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A table by the fire is best to keep warm while you enjoy your curry”
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #16 of 101 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: NZ wide chain.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A table by the fire is best to keep warm while you enjoy your curry”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited on cold wet night, the restaurant is inviting and is housed in a lovely old bank building.The interior is modern and fresh. The menu is very extensive and heaps of vegetarian choices, the brand it self has a very nice back story as is explained in the menu. Yummy garlic naan and portions of curry were more than plenty for most to finish. We were seated on the mezzanine floor which was removed from the noise of the other tables but it was very cold and the heater was turned off so we turned it on ourselves but that made little difference. I suggest you ask for a table down by the fire if it is cold. My only suggestion to the staff is to be a little more organised with who is waiting a table etc, because there seemed to be some dissension between staff members about who should be doing what!Everyone was very friendly otherwise but customers notice these things.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meal review”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Turned up after being at movies. Service excellent. Meal just delicious. Value for money. Definite return visit. 9/10

Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice and Spicy”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant by accident and weren't disappointed. The food is very good and at reasonable prices. We found the staff very helpful and pleasant.
Overall it was a great meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bananabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Takeout Champions”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Needed a feed, on the run, called in, ordered, out in 15 minutes with some excellent dishes that lasted two meals for two hungry adults- admittedly no longer teenagers though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbsteraged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Little India, The Cresent, Invercargill opened up a couple of years ago in a building that had previously had 2 cafe/restaurants in there and some might have been tempted to think "how long will this one last?"
I am not sure how long it was before we went there to dine but we were very pleased and now go there regularly. I love any excuse to eat Indian as it is the last thing in the world that I would try to cook at home.....so it is a treat.
The staff are excellent.....One time we were in a group and my brother's meal was too hot so they cooked him a new one because "we want everyone here to have a positive dining experience". We have never had a bad meal or cause to query or complain. Sometimes it can seem slow but I guess it is because they cook everything from scratch rather than having bins of food that are reheated.
Complimentary poppadoms are always given at the table and they remember you and go the extra mile for birthdays etc......they even sing too!!!
We have our favourite dishes but I think I should go through the whole menu.
If you are thinking of going there remember that mild = medium hot, and medium = hot....You have been warned. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing