We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mellow tunes & Funky Feel”
Review of Barluca

Barluca
Ranked #63 of 99 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: Pizza, Grill
Restaurant details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mellow tunes & Funky Feel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our last night in Invercargill and I quite liked the look of the menu, I think from the outside it's a bit dark so you could easily be put off going in.
I'm glad we did, it was a busy Friday night and we were worried we wouldn't get a table. Our waitress was very friendly and cheerful.
The wooden decor inside gave a slight oriental feel to the place, but the funky changing lights over the bar were pretty cool. Not sure what the tunes were, but were pretty mellow so we could hear each other talk.
The cocktails were fantastic and really reasonably priced.
We were warned there would be a delay on our orders because it was so busy, but we weren't in any rush to it wasn't a problem - it was clear that the place was totally understaffed.
Our food arrived, just as I was about to ask where it was, the pizza's were hot and very tasty.
We had one of the pizza deals, so our final bill was really good value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Efc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Invercargill's Best Eats, Beats & Drinks”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place we almost walked past, as the outside isn't a looker.

However, once inside this place has to be the best place in town.

First up, let's be honest, the service is mind blowing. The staff we had serve us for drinks and dinner early on a Thursday night was just superb. Attentive, friendly, relaxed and inviting. (Tuatara across the road take note).

The food is yum with the pizzas full of flavour, fresh produce, and great prices for generous portions.

Get a table by the fire, hit the pool table and settle in. You'll end up like Dad and I and pretty much not want to leave.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJM885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Movie deal catch”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

not made clear that the only meal on offer as part of the movie deal was a pizza. xrinks are extra. not worth ot as the movie tickets are only $15.30. food was good though.but where are the patrons?

Helpful?
Thank Freetotravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is a restaurant/ bar and quite popular with the younger set, so I tend to go there earlier to eat as I am not so young. There are regular specials nights, the pizzas are tasty and varied, stone grilled meals great, service is excellent, and I would recommend this restaurant to all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 59TRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great weekly Pub Quiz with cheap Burgers”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great Pub Quiz with even better prizes and giveaways, every Wednesday night from 7pm - $12 burgers (Chicken, Steak and Fish) on offer also. Heaps of pizza toppings to choose from, great tasting and at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2805John1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barluca also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Barluca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing