We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A nice little place"”
Review of Coachman's Inn

Coachman's Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coachman's Inn
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A little dated and behind the times, could use a revamp but still a very nice place to stay. Very friendly and welcoming staff who make you feel at ease from the moment you arrive. Fairly basic rooms but perfectly acceptable given the price. Coachman's Inn really has a small town charm despite being located in Invercargill and conjures up memories of school camps and family get always. I stayed two nights for a weekend get-away and had a really nice time. The place is nice and affordable for students and the amenities, while being dated to some, are more than acceptable. Overall a really nice place and I would strongly consider staying with them again. I highly recommend Coachman's Inn to people looking for a nice cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: If you pressed for money go for the small cabins. They are cozy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellyWill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

11 of us stayed, the staff helped get us all sorted. great food and beer. its near a intersection but the night was quiet, there is a bit of traffic noise in the morning but we were up and about by then. nice big brekke to get the day going, price is fair.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The staff where lovely and helpful and went the extra mile, by far the most welcoming staff we came accross on our holiday. The rooms were clean, though could do with a little redecorating. Also putting a family in a room under a group of noisy contractors was not ideal, and the plumbling was very noisy, but overall good value for money. Good homestyle meals in the restaurant.

Room Tip: I'd definately ask for an upstairs room next time to avoid all the noise of the upstairs guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Sorry guys but what was acceptable 30 years ago is no longer acceptable. Let's start with WiFi - there is none, which is totally unacceptable today. The rooms, though clean and reasonably comfortable, are cramped and tired. No shampoo, no hairdryer, heating operated on a timer, less than basic kitchen ware, a big step to the shower (one of our party had a fall as a result of the step). Our party (about 50) had a set meal which was, at best, bland and uninteresting. There are many other motels in the Tay St area. Surely most of them are better.

Room Tip: Go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BandL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I had a problem with this motel. They were extremely professional and helpful to me.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Here just for overnight stay. We arrived about 6pm to find no one in reception and had to go looking, not a great start in the pouring rain. Nice friendly welcome though. Large studio with queen and single bed, sofa and t.v. Microwave was on dressing table, fridge, kettle (tea/coffee etc) and toaster by sink unit. Shower room with separate toilet, a very big step up to shower which we thought not great with a slippy floor. This was perhaps the least appealing of our motels, it needs a refurbishment but having said that it was very clean and tidy and was well equipped. The only motel we stayed however which didn't have a hairdryer. Rather disappointed that the restaurant was closed as this was one of the reasons we booked here, but were given advice on local places to eat and went Ziffs Restaurant a few miles away which was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stopped here for one night in January, we were touring the south island and found this Hotel a very handy stop off point.
We were made to feel very welcome, and the owners were very helpful.
There is plenty of parking and the meal at night was very nice.
The rooms were very big and clean.
We paid $115 for the room and we would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
409 reviews
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.7 mi away
Garden Grove Motel
Garden Grove Motel
#25 of 33 in Invercargill
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
295 on Tay Motel
295 on Tay Motel
#11 of 33 in Invercargill
81 reviews
2 mi away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#8 of 33 in Invercargill
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn

Address: 705 Tay Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range: £56 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coachman's Inn Motor Lodge — “Our Place is Your Place”, so come right in — you'll feel welcome the minute you arrive.We offer clean, unpretentious and reasonably priced accommodation in Invercargill, and you'll feel right at home with our relaxed hospitality.We have accommodation options to suit all budgets – self catering apartments, motel studios, cabins, powered sites and tent sites! Our boutique family restaurant, The Stables, makes us a one-stop-shop for all visitors to Invercargill. Our popularity and massive repeat business are built on great hospitality and real customer service. Word of mouth recommendations consistently brings us new guests.WiFi is available in Reception and the Restaurant - 50Mg free per day. So easy to find – Coachman's Inn is the first motel on your left as you come in from Dunedin on SH1. We look forward to welcoming you to our motel.Rhian Cotter and the staffCoachman's Inn Motor Lodge, Invercargill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coachman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman's Inn Invercargill, New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing