We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spur of the moment booking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashlar Motel Invercargill

Ashlar Motel Invercargill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashlar Motel Invercargill
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

As we found ourselves in Invercargill with daylight failing a quick web search showed that Ashlar Motel was nearby and in our price range. Travelling with friends isn't always comfortable with twin settings so the option of a 3 bedroom unit was greatly appreciated.

Mahays (owner) went to a lot of effort to show us the room before we agreed to stay and it certainly suited our needs perfectly, plus was a quiet room. She also ensured we had all the positive and friendly advice possible to enjoy our time in the area.

I would definitely stay here again - clean, comfortable, modern and a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
9
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed overnight at Ashlar Motel and would recommend it because of the value and location. Our room was spotless, good size and good cooking facilities. The hospitality was excellent, with some good recommendations for sightseeing around Invercargill.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassageNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

As an Engineer my job is all about last minute travels throughout New Zealand
Ashlar is situated perfectly in the centre of town and the room rates are priced right.
I walked in and met the owner Mahays & Kana who was not only welcoming but made you feel right at home. The rooms are good and comfortable.
The service stands out to which I take this time to post a comment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked to stay here on Wotif days prior to staying. When we arrived the owner told us they had overbooked and blamed Wotif. When I asked why I wasn't phoned she said they had no number. Surprise, surprise when she looked there was my number! She had booked us into a local B&B. It was a 2nd rate place. Old house, old room, TV/internet only in common lounge. Paper thin walls between rooms. Long way to walk with luggage from car.

My personal opinion was that they had groups staying and it was easier to move a couple and get more money by renting the room out to 4 or more people in one room (B&B dont allow groups to saty). Bad business!

Could at least have phoned or emailed and allowed us to decide. We had to drive 3 hours more to get similar accomodation.Let's wait and see now if we get a refund

Room Tip: stay somwhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roz_from_oz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashlar81, Owner at Ashlar Motel Invercargill, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Before we could close Wotif , your booking came through.On that day the city was very busy and the surrounding motel had no vacancies. We thought it will be helpful to locate another suitable accommodation and make arrangement before your arrival. This arrangement was done for your convenience. We are sorry if the Motel/B&B chosen was not satisfactory. Again we agree we should have phoned and explain the situation.

However to tell the wider public "DON"T STAY HERE" is way out of proportion. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. As moteliers we go out of our way to help and assist customers. In this instance looks like we failed. We would be very grateful if you kindly remove your review on Ashlar.

Our sincere apology. If you are visiting Invercargill again, the next stay with us is free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We arrived after 10pm and rang about an hour prior to see if there was a room as we were going to be arriving in Invercargill. The lady (owner) was very lovely on the phone and even told us to drive safely (as we were coming from the Catlins). I think the office was closed at that stage so it was lovely that she was going to wait for us and gave us directions. The room is huge, not modern but had a good-sized bed with a single bed as well, sofa, and table. The TV is small and furniture a bit of a mish-mash, like '70s style furniture and walls. The small, old TV was held up by a trolley that reminded me of my childhood days. Towels were average and not your plush towels one would like. in fact, the towels looked a bit worse for wear.

A big sized room but furniture and towels could do with an updated touch. But the service was great, had a lovely chat with the owner upon checking out and she informed us of what to go and see in the town.

Lovely stay. She even gave us a late checkout time. Good car parking.

Make sure you visit Queens Park too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PosyRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We felt very well looked after at this motel. Mahays was most friendly and helpful in providing sightseeing information and finding me a doctor when I was sick, She even brought us home baking for supper!
Our studio accommodation was clean and comfortable. It was roomy and had a sofa. All dishes and cutlery were taken away and washed by staff.
The only drawback was that there was only a microwave for cooking but in every other way it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

The Ashlar is one of the friendliest motels I've stayed in: Mahays is very welcoming, and makes sure her guests have everything they need. She went the extra mile when we asked for a late check-out after we met family members off a very early flight and they needed to crash for a while before we continued on our way. The location is really good; close to the central city and gardens, and the units are set back from the road, so it's nice and quiet. Some of the rooms are of an older style, but they do have everything you need. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otagotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.7 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bavarian Motel
Bavarian Motel
#22 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surrey Court Motel
Surrey Court Motel
#21 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlar Motel Invercargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlar Motel Invercargill

Property: Ashlar Motel Invercargill
Address: 81 Queens Drive, Invercargill, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashlar Motel Invercargill 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Ashlar Motel Invercargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlar Motel Invercargill New Zealand - South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing